Northern Ireland election results as shock sees Ian Paisley lose to Jim Allister while Sorcha Eastwood makes history in Lagan Valley

Recap of our live NI election results coverage from every constituency as 18 MPs were elected

Ian Paisley watches a partial recount of votes in the North Antrim count at Meadowbank Sports Arena, Magherafelt (Niall Carson/Niall Carson/PA Wire)

It’s been a night of twists and turns in an election that has thrown up more surprises than many predicted during the campaign. In what was the biggest shock of the night, Ian Paisley lost his North Antrim seat to the TUV’s Jim Allister, ending the Paisley family’s five-decade dynasty.

The Alliance Party’s Sorcha Eastwood made history by topping the poll in the historically unionist Lagan Valley, while DUP leader Gavin Robinson came out on top in East Belfast over Alliance leader Naomi Long.

Elsewhere in a strong Sinn Fein performance, Pat Cullen took the seat in Fermanagh South Tyrone and John Finucane returned comfortably in North Belfast.

For a full list of rolling results you can visit here. And for detailed stats, visit our results hub here.