Other Sports

Ireland Women ready to face Australia and Pakistan in T20 series at Bready

Ireland women cricketers in action. Pic: Oisin Keniry
Kenny Archer

The Season of Stars continues over the next week and more when Ireland Women play host to a T20 International Tri-Series with Australia and Pakistan at Bready Cricket Club between Saturday July 16 and Sunday July 24.

Mary Waldron replaced senior Irish international Shauna Kavanagh, who had to withdraw for personal reasons from the Ireland Women's squad.

Otherwise, the 14-player squad is as named earlier this month and sees the return of several high-profile players from the squad that faced South Africa in June, including captain Laura Delany, all-rounder Orla Prendergast, wicketkeeper-batter Amy Hunter, top-order batter Rebecca Stokell, and bowler Ava Canning.

Hanley Energy have been announced as the series title sponsor, with the official title of the series: Hanley Energy Women's International Tri-Series.

Australia and Pakistan are using the Tri-Series as preparation for the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham which will feature women's T20 cricket for the first time

Australia Women's last visit to Ireland was August 2015 where the sides played three T20Is (Australia won 3-0); the sides last met at the T20 World Cup in 2018 (Australia won)

Australia Women are ranked first in the world in T20I cricket, while Pakistan are seventh and Ireland 11th.

Ireland and Australia have met six times before in women's T20I cricket, with Australia having won all six matches

Ireland and Australia first played a women's international match in 1987; the sides have met 21 times in total across all formats

Pakistan Women's last visit to Ireland was July 2013 where the sides played a match as part of the T20 World Cup Qualifier (Pakistan won); the sides last met at the T20 World Cup in 2018 (Pakistan won)

Ireland and Pakistan have met 14 times before in women's T20I cricket, with Pakistan having won 12 matches (Ireland won twice).

Ireland and Pakistan first played a women's international match in 1997; the sides have met 31 times in total across all formats, including in the historic first Ireland Women's Test match in 2000

T20I fixture schedule (all start times 4pm at Bready):

Saturday July 16: Australia Women v Pakistan Women

Sunday July 17: Ireland Women v Australia Women

Tuesday July 19: Ireland Women v Pakistan Women

Thursday July 21: Ireland Women v Australia Women

Saturday July 23: Pakistan Women v Australia Women

Sunday July 24: Ireland Women v Pakistan Women.


Australia: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Ireland: Laura Delany (c), Ava Canning, Rachel Delaney, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron

Pakistan: Bismah Maroof (c), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gul Feroza, Iram Javed, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Tuba Hassan.

See where the sides are ranked in the world here: https://www.icc-cricket.com/rankings/womens/overview.

The venue: https://www.facebook.com/breadycricket

Tickets are selling fast and can be purchased online at: www.cricketireland.ie/tickets. Adults '5, kids free. Tickets will be available at the gate if matches are not sold out in advance.

Fans in Ireland / UK can watch the series on:

FreeSports TV (some matches live, some matches delayed)

www.ICC.tv will carry all games live

For the rest of the world:

Indian Sub-Continent: Fan Code

Sub-Saharan Africa: SuperSport

US & Canada: Willow

Caribbean: Flow Sports

Australia: Fox Sports

Please check local guides for more details.