Hurling & Camogie

Dobbin and Magill shoulder scoring burden as Antrim record Very National Camogie League win over Limerick

Aine Magill scored 1-4 in Antrim's win over Limerick
Aine Magill scored 1-4 in Antrim's win over Limerick

Very Ireland national Camogie League Division 1B: Limerick 1-11 Antrim 2-17

ANTRIM recorded their second victory in the Very Camogie League Division 1B, pulling clear of hosts Limerick at Mick Neville Park Rathkeale with a flurry of scores in the middle of the second half.

The Saffrons had to field without key forward Róisín McCormick who had been carrying an injury since her Ashbourne Cup success a fortnight earlier, but her Loughgiel club-mate Caitrin Dobbin and Dunloy’s Áine Magill more than made up for her absence by accumulating two goals and 11 points between them.

Magill’s goal came in the fifth minute, but Claire Keating, who had been the team’s goalie last week against Wexford, tagged on scores from placed balls to keep Limerick in touch and by the 18th minute they had drawn level at 0-5 to 1-2.

However, Antrim kept creeping ahead for the rest of the half and Caitrin Dobbin’s free in injury-time put the Ulster champions 1-6 to 0-8 ahead at the break.

The Saffrons then outscored their opponents by 1-11 to 1-3 with the assistance of the breeze in the second half and Magill and Dobbin stretching the defence at every opportunity. Dobbin’s goal came in the 49th minute and opened the gap between the sides to seven points, 2-11 to 0-10.

Four more points followed for Antrim including a fine score from Sionann Graham before Limerick got their next score, a goal from Caoimhe Lyons in the 58th minute. However it was no more than a consolation score and Antrim had picked up full points from their first two league games.

Next up is a trip to Offaly who look to be struggling after two successive defeats.


Antrim: C Dobbin (1-7, 0-3 frees); Á Magill (1-4); S Graham (0-2), F Kelly (0-1), S McKillop (0-1), C McArthur (0-1), M McKillen (0-1).

Limerick: C Keating (0-8, 0-7 frees); C Lyons (1-0); Á Reynolds (0-1), S O’Brien (0-1), L Boylan (0-1)