Tyrone champions Errigal Ciaran will begin title defence against Killyclogher

Errigal Ciaran celebrate Tyrone title success in 2022 Picture by Seamus Loughran
Errigal Ciaran celebrate Tyrone title success in 2022 Picture by Seamus Loughran

TYRONE champions Errigal Ciaran will begin the defence of their title in the tie of the first round when they meet Killyclogher.

Last night’s draw at Garvaghey for the 2023 Connolly’s of Moy Tyrone SFC threw up a series of intriguing pairings, including the meeting of 2021 champions Dromore and this year’s All-Ireland Club IFC finalists Galbally.

Last year’s beaten finalists, Carrickmore,  will also meet one of the newly-promoted sides, Edendork, who will be managed by former Kilcoo manager Conleith Gilligan.

There’s a local deerby between 2020 champions Dungannon and the third senior newcomer, Eglish.

Trillick will be under the new management of Jody Gormley when they take on Loughmacrory.

Former Antrim boss Gormley succeeds Nigel Seaney, who led the club to two O’Neill Cup titles during his eight years in charge. Former Fermanagh great Peter McGinnity will also be part of the management set-up.

Omagh will meet Ardboe in a repeat of last year’s first-round tie which was won by the Healy Park men.

Coalisland, who last won the O’Neill Cup in 2018, were drawn to meet Greencastle, while Donaghmore will take on Moortown.

The series will once again be played out in a straight knock-out format, Tyrone one of the few counties still operating on the traditional basis.

The clubs will get their first competitive action of their season when the Division One League gets under way on May 19.

Friday night football, which proved a major success when introduced last year, will continue this season.



Edendork v Carrickmore; Loughmacrory v Trillick; Eglish v Dungannon; Galbally v Dromore; Moortown v Donaghmore; Errigal Ciaran v Killyclogher; Omagh v Ardboe;

Greencastle v Coalisland


Rock v Clonoe; Tattyreagh v Aghyaran; Clogher v Killeeshil; Kildress v Moy; Derrylaughan v Stewartstown; Gortin v Strabane; Owen Roes v Naomh Eoghan; Pomeroy v Beragh


Augher v Glenelly (prelim); Killyman v Aghaloo; Castlederg v Errigal Ciaran III; Drumquin v Brocagh; Urney v Fintona; Clann nan Gael v Prelim winner; Derrytresk v Drumragh; Cookstown v Donaghmore III;

Brackaville v Eskra