It's make up your mind time on Irish News Ulster Allstars 2019

Is Donegal's Michael Murphy again a shoe-in for an Irish News Ulster Allstar? Picture by Séamus Loughran
Is Donegal's Michael Murphy again a shoe-in for an Irish News Ulster Allstar? Picture by Séamus Loughran Is Donegal's Michael Murphy again a shoe-in for an Irish News Ulster Allstar? Picture by Séamus Loughran

AS THE Super 8s hurtle towards their dramatic conclusion, the conversation over individual accolades is only starting to heat up.

And where better than to make your case than The Irish News as the Ulster Allstar team returns for a 24th year? Voting opens today and not only can you chose 15 players from Ulster who caught your eye, but you can also have your say on who should be crowned 2019 Irish News Player of the Year.

Did someone from Donegal stand out as they retained their Ulster SFC crown? Who has starred for Tyrone as they again recovered from provincial elimination to make the Super 8s? Who from Cavan deserves recognition for helping the Breffni county to a first Ulster final in 18 years?

These are all questions you can help answer by submitting your team using the paper entry or by visiting What’s more, one lucky reader will get the chance to attend the gala night with the winner set to be picked randomly from all those who submit votes.

The Irish News sports team have provided their own shortlist of potential nominees to make the team, which will be announced at the glittering awards ceremony. However, our readers will make the ultimate decision in what is a unique awards initiative where you get to choose who goes forward for final selection. To be clear – you CAN vote for whoever you like; their name does not have to be on the nominees’ list.

The Irish News sports editor Thomas Hawkins is looking forward to hearing who our readers have rated as the star turns of this year’s Championship.

“It’s certainly been another entertaining year in the Ulster Senior Football Championship, and the nip-and-tuck nature of the Super 8s has only added to the occasion,” he said.

“We know how highly the intensity and quality of Ulster football is rated throughout the country and our Ulster Allstars are an equally hotly-contested initiative that reflects the passion Gaels have for the game.

“Given this passion among our readership, I encourage every reader to get voting now,” Thomas added.

Joining us for our 24th year of awards are our five supporting partners – O’Neill’s, Novosco, Autoline Insurance, PKF-FPM and Millar McCall Wylie. They are joined this year by an additional five supporters: Ulster University, St Mary’s University College, SPAR NI, Lambert Smith Hampton and Clarendon Executive/

Irish News marketing manager John Brolly said: “I am delighted that we have five great partners in O’Neill’s sportswear, Novosco, PKF-FPM, Autoline Insurance and Millar McCall Wylie linking up with our Irish News Allstars, who will be joining us on our awards night.

“In addition, we have five supporters in St Mary’s University College, Ulster University, Lambert Smith Hampton, SPAR NI and Clarendon Executive lining up with us for 2019. It’s a great night where we recognise some of the best talent in the GAA and who have provided us with great moments in the Championship this year.”

The vote will remain open for three weeks, until Monday, August 19.


Goalkeepers: Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Raymond Galligan (Cavan), Shaun Patton (Donegal)

Full-backs: Paul Hughes (Armagh), Ronan McNamee (Tyrone), Conor Moynagh (Cavan), Pádraig Faulkner (Cavan), Darren O’Hagan (Down), Paddy McGrath (Donegal), Odhrán McFadden-Ferry (Donegal), Rory Brennan (Tyrone), Stephen McMenamin (Donegal)

Half-backs: Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Eoghan Bán Gallagher (Donegal), Michael Cassidy (Tyrone), Caolan Mooney (Down), Frank Burns (Tyrone), Aidan Forker (Armagh), Killian Clarke (Cavan), Paddy McBride (Antrim), Ultán Kelm (Fermanagh)

Midfielders: Jarlath Óg Burns (Armagh), Matt Fitzpatrick (Antrim), Gearóid McKiernan, (Cavan), Jason McGee (Donegal), Richie Donnelly (Tyrone), Hugh McFadden (Donegal)

Half-forwards: Stefan Campbell (Armagh), Martin Reilly (Cavan), Jemar Hall (Armagh), Peter Harte (Tyrone), Jamie Brennan (Donegal), Pádraig Cassidy (Derry), Ciarán Thompson (Donegal), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Kieran Hughes (Monaghan)

Full-forwards: Ryan Murray (Antrim), Rian O’Neill (Armagh), Dara McVeety (Cavan), Jamie Clarke (Armagh), Cathal McShane (Tyrone), Shane McGuigan (Derry), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Donal O’Hare (Down), Paddy McBrearty (Donegal)

Vote now by cilcking here