Eva Mangan steps up to senior squad as Katie McCabe leads team into Sweden qualifiers

Niamh Fahey and Heather Payne out injured

Katie McCabe salutes the fans after defeat to England
Katie McCabe will captain the Irish against the Swedes (Damien Eagers/PA)

EVA Mangan’s great form for Cork City this season has earned her a spot in Eileen Gleeson’s Euro 2025 squad for Ireland’s double header with Sweden on May 31 and June 4.

The 19-year-old midfielder is the only new face in the Irish panel as they try to rebuild their Euro prospects following back-to-back defeats to France and England in their two opening games.

Both Niamh Fahey and Heather Payne are unavailable for the Sweden games due to Achilles injuries, while Chloe Mustaki, Tara O’Hanlon and Jamie Finn are continuing their recovery from long-term injuries.

The Girls in Green host the Swedes at the Aviva Stadium on Friday May 31 (7.30pm) before visiting Stockholm for the corresponding fixture in Group A3 the following Tuesday.

Gleeson’s squad will begin preparations for the qualifiers at the FAI National Training Centre from May 27.

Ireland WNT Squad:
Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (London City Lionesses), Sophie Whitehouse (Lewes)
Defenders: Jessie Stapleton (West Ham United), Diane Caldwell (FC Zurich), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Caitlin Hayes (Celtic), Anna Patten (Aston Villa), Aoife Mannion (Manchester United), Megan Campbell (London City Lionesses)
Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Bristol City), Ruesha Littlejohn (London City Lionesses), Tyler Toland (Blackburn Rovers), Lily Agg (Birmingham City), Jess Ziu (West Ham United), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City), Erin McLaughlin (Peamount United), Eva Mangan (Cork City), Izzy Atkinson (Crystal Palace)
Forwards: Kyra Carusa (San Diego Wave), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Emily Murphy (Wake Forest University), Abbie Larkin (Crystal Palace), Amber Barrett (Standard Liege)