Political news

Claire Hanna and Stephen Farry join NI Affairs Committee

Claire Hanna is joining Westminster's Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

NEWLY-elected MPs Claire Hanna and Stephen Farry are set to join Westminster's Northern Ireland Affairs Committee.

They will join previous members Ian Paisley, Gregory Campbell and Conor McGinn, the south Armagh-born Labour MP.

Strangford DUP MP Jim Shannon also sat on the NI Affairs Committee during the last mandate but does not have a place on the new committee, which will chaired again by the Conservative Simon Hoare.

The remaining members, all of whom will be approved on Monday, are Conservatives Caroline Ansell, Scott Benton, Robert Goodwill and Bob Stewart, alongside Labour's Karin Smyth.

The committee's role is to "examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and its associated public bodies" and carries out inquiries to make recommendations to government.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access