Northern Ireland news

Boundary Commission drops plan to split Dungiven three ways for Westminster elections

The Boundary Commission has published its final recommendations for redrawn Westminster constituencies. The map shows the existing 18 seats in colour, and the 17 redrawn constituences bounded with red lines.
By Michael McHugh, Press Association

PROPOSALS to split a Co Derry town into three voting zones have been dropped as the final revised Westminster boundaries for Northern Ireland were published.

Changes will reduce the number of constituencies from 18 to 17, part of a wider reform to reduce the number of MPs from 650 to 600.

The largely nationalist town of Dungiven on the main Derry-Belfast road was to be divided between three constituencies but the Boundary Commission for Northern Ireland recommended that the ward be transferred in its entirety from Mid Ulster to the new Sperrin constituency.

Almost 10,000 petition signatures and letters were received by the organisation responsible for drawing up a new constituencies map.

Final parliamentary boundaries were approved and published by the British government today, largely as anticipated with only two changes, to Dungiven and the predominantly rural area of Mallusk on the outskirts of north Belfast.

On Dungiven, the commission said: "We accept that this is an arguable point and acknowledge the weight of public support for it."

The old West Tyrone constituency will be renamed Sperrin.

The commission said: "A compromise solution is possible which would not require any wards to be split, namely to transfer Dungiven ward from Mid Ulster to Sperrin."

Belfast retains its four constituencies.

The commission said: "Many argued that Mallusk ward should remain in South Antrim rather than being transferred to Belfast North.

"The main factors cited were to keep Mallusk within its existing constituency and to respect its predominantly rural character.

"We accept this argument and accordingly recommend that Mallusk should remain within the constituency of South Antrim."

The Boundary Commission had to design new constituencies with populations as similarly-sized as possible.

Holywood in Co Down prompted objections to its transfer into the East Belfast seat as it could cut ties within the town itself, but the commission said other options would raise significant new issues with neighbouring constituencies and rejected a change.

The commission also ruled out a rethink in Mid Down, which had been suggested following concerns over local ties.

Belfast has retained its four constituencies

The full list of 17 constituencies as set out in the final recommendations, with their December 2015 electorates:

  • Belfast East 70,079
  • Belfast North 73,285
  • Belfast South 69,881
  • Belfast West 73,732
  • Causeway 74,360
  • East Antrim 74,733
  • Fermanagh and South Tyrone 71,038
  • Foyle 71,398
  • Mid Antrim 70,409
  • Mid Down 77,767
  • Mid Ulster 71,501
  • Newry and Armagh 75,635
  • North Down 73,444
  • South Antrim 76,489
  • South Down 76,924
  • Sperrin 72,899
  • Upper Bann 69,795

Read more:

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

Northern Ireland news

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: