Liam Gallagher and John Squire announce their first Irish date and details of debut album, Liam Gallagher John Squire

Liam Gallagher will headline the festival (Aaron Chown/PA)
Liam Gallagher Liam Gallagher and John Squire have announced details of their debut album and first ever Irish date. Picture: Aaron Chown

EX-OASIS frontman Liam Gallagher and former Stone Roses guitarist John Squire have announced the first Irish date for their new musical team-up.

The news comes as the pair release their second single, Mars to Liverpool, another taste of the Liam Gallagher John Squire debut album which will be released on March 1.

A black and white photo of John Squire and Liam Gallagher
John Squire and Liam Gallagher The pair are set to release their debut album in March. Picture: Tom Oxley (Tom Oxley/Tom Oxley)

The Irish date at Dublin’s Olympia Theatre on March 16 will be part of the duo’s first tour together, which also includes shows in Britain, France, Germany, Italy and the USA.

The live band for the tour will see them backed up by Little Barrie leader (and regular Paul Weller and Primal Scream live man) Barrie Cadogan on bass and Joey Waronker (Beck, REM) on drums, the latter having played on the album itself.

The full tour dates are as follows. Support will come from Jake Bugg at all shows, except Brooklyn:

  • 13th – Glasgow, Barrowland
  • 14th – Wolverhampton, Civic Hall
  • 16th – Dublin, Olympia
  • 18th – Newcastle, O2 City Hall
  • 20th – Manchester, O2 Apollo
  • 21st – Manchester, O2 Apollo
  • 23rd – Leeds, O2 Academy
  • 25th – London, O2 Forum Kentish Town
  • 26th – London, Troxy
Read more:

  • 2nd – Paris, Salle Pleyel
  • 4th – Berlin, Columbiahalle
  • 6th – Milan, Fabrique
  • 11th – Brooklyn, Paramount
The cover art for Liam Gallagher John Squire, the debut album from the Britpop icons, which is set for release in March
Liam Gallagher John Squire album cover Liam Gallagher John Squire, the debut album from the Britpop icons, is set for release in March

Liam says, “I can’t wait for people to hear the album. I think the people that are into the Stone Roses and Oasis and that kinda thing, I think they’ll f***ing love it. It’s spiritual, it’s crucial.”

The idea for the new collaboration has its roots in John Squire’s guest appearances at Oasis’s Knebworth shows in 1996. The record was recorded in Los Angeles with the producer Greg Kurstin, who played bass on the sessions.

Oasis pictured before their massive concerts at Knebworth in 1996
Oasis pictured before their massive concerts at Knebworth in 1996 Oasis pictured before their massive concerts at Knebworth in 1996

John adds, “It was really inspiring to have those Knebworth gigs fresh in my mind as I started writing. Then it was a case of trying to steer it away from all being too rocky, and trying to mix up the sentiments as well.

“I like the way that in some parts, it’s quite melancholic and it can make you well up, but there are other parts that are kind of irreverent, rude or crude. There’s a little bit of everything in there, I think it’s a really good mix.

“I had a hunch that we’d sound good together, but I wasn’t prepared for it to be such a good fit.”

The pair also revealed the tracklisting for the debut album, which includes Mars to Liverpool and their Top 20 debut single, Just Another Rainbow:

  1. Raise Your Hands
  2. Mars To Liverpool
  3. One Day At A Time
  4. I’m a Wheel
  5. Just Another Rainbow
  6. Love You Forever
  7. Make It Up As You Go Along
  8. You’re Not The Only One
  9. I’m So Bored
  10. Mother Nature’s Song

The album is now available to pre-order. Physical formats include standard CD and vinyl, a deluxe split-colour vinyl, a white vinyl stocked exclusively by HMV and select indie stores, and an Amazon-exclusive orange EcoRecord vinyl.

Fans who pre-order the album from the official store by 3pm on Tuesday January 30 will receive access to a pre-sale for tour tickets. The pre-sale will open at 9.30am on Wednesday January 31 before any remaining tickets go on general sale from 9.30am on Friday February 2.

Tickets for the Dublin show will be available via ticketmaster.ie.

Latest Entertainment Videos