Ulster Rugby starting XV for Thomond Park clash unchanged from Leinster win as Munster make six changes

United Rugby Championship Round 18: Munster v Ulster (Saturday, Thomond Park, 5.15pm)

Ulster Rugby Interim Head Coach Richie Murphy   during FridayÕs  URC match at Kingspan Stadium.
Picture by Brian Little
Richie Murphy has named an unchanged team for Ulster's trip to Thomond Park to take on Munster Picture: Brian Little

RICHIE Murphy and his Ulster side will hope to end the regular URC season on a high when they face provincial rivals Munster in Limerick on Saturday.

Both sides have already secured knockout rugby and are competing for a favourable match-up in the quarter-final stage.

Ulster have, unsurprisingly, named an unchanged starting XV and bench from their monumental win against Leinster at the RDS Arena.

A win over Munster would also mean the province would claim the Irish Shield, which is given to the Irish team with the best head-to-head record against the other Irish sides across the URC campaign.

Lock Alan O’Connor continues to captain the team, joining Kieran Treadwell in the second row.

Eric O’Sullivan starts at loosehead prop, Rob Herring at hooker and Tom O’Toole completes the front row at tighthead prop.

The back row sees Cormac Izuchukwu at blindside flanker, David McCann at openside flanker and Nick Timoney at eight.

John Cooney starts at scrum-half after his BKT Player of the Match performance against Leinster, where Billy Burns joins him at fly-half.

Jacob Stockdale and Mike Lowry start on the left and right-wing, respectively.

Stuart McCloskey and Will Addison start together in the centre positions.

Ethan McIlroy completes the XV at full-back.

The forward options are Tom Stewart, Andy Warwick, Scott Wilson, Harry Sheridan and Matty Rea with Nathan Doak, Jude Postlethwaite and Stewart Moore forming the back options.

As for Munster, There are six changes and one positional switch to their side that beat Edinburgh last time out; Simon Zebo, Seán O’Brien, Rory Scannell, Stephen Archer, RG Snyman and Peter O’Mahony all come into the starting XV.

O’Mahony, Alex Kendellen and Jack O’Donoghue start together in the back row as O’Donoghue moves to no.8.

Where can I watch and listen to the game?

The game will be shown live tomorrow night on RTÉ2 and radio commentary on BBC Radio Foyle & BBC Sounds.