All-Ireland SFC: semi-final: Kerry 2-14 Mayo 2-14

The rain fell heavily but it failed to dampen the drama as Kerry and Mayo fought out an absorbing 2-14 apiece draw in the first of the 2017 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship semi-finals at Croke Park today.

Tyrone and Dublin will battle it out next Sunday in the second semi-final but both teams will not know who they could face until Kerry and Mayo go head to head again, most likely next Saturday night. 

Kerry: Brian Kelly; Shane Enright, Mark Griffin, Killian Young (0-1); Peter Crowley, Tadhg Morley, Paul Murphy  (0-1); David Moran, Anthony Maher; Michael Geaney, Johnny Buckley (1-0), Stephen O’Brien (1-0); Paul Geaney (0-7), Kieran Donaghy (0-1), James O’Donoghue (0-3)

Subs: Jack Savage for Michael Geaney (21 mins); Jonathan Lyne for Griffin (h-t); Jack Barry for Maher (h-t); Darran O’Sullivan for Buckley (54); Barry John Keane (0-1) for O’Donoghue (61); Brian Sheehan for Donaghy (72)

Mayo: David Clarke; Chris Barrett, Aidan O’Shea, Brendan Harrison; Colm Boyle (1-0), Donal Vaughan (0-1), Keith Higgins; Séamus O’Shea, Tom Parsons (0-2); Kevin McLoughlin, Lee Keegan, Diarmuid O’Connor; Cillian O’Connor (0-4), Jason Doherty (0-1), Andy Moran (1-5)

Subs: Paddy Durcan  (0-1) for Boyle (42 mins); Stephen Cohen for Séamus O’Shea (54); David Drake for Diarmuid O’Connor (67); Conor Loftus for Doherty (73)

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois)