Estimated declaration times for May 2 local, mayoral and police elections

The final result is expected on the afternoon of Sunday May 5.

Results of the May 2 elections are being declared over several days
Results of the May 2 elections are being declared over several days (Andrew Matthews/PA)

Here is the latest list of the estimated declaration times for the local, mayoral and police & crime commissioner elections that are taking place in England and Wales on May 2.

The results of these elections are being declared over several days, starting on the night of May 2 and ending on May 5.

There are 107 councils holding elections in England, with around a third (35) currently expected to declare on the night of May 2, nearly two-thirds (68) expected to declare during the day on May 3, with three due on May 4 and one on May 5.

The results of four of the 11 mayoral contests (East Midlands, North East, Tees Valley and York & North Yorkshire) will be declared during the day on May 3, while the rest – including London and the West Midlands – will be declared on May 4.

Of the results for the 37 police & crime commissioner elections across England and Wales, three will be declared on the night of May 2, 24 will be declared during the day on May 3, eight will be declared on May 4 and two will be declared on May 5.

Results of the London Assembly election will be declared on the afternoon of May 4, but exact timings for all the constituencies are currently unavailable.

The list is organised chronologically and is divided into four sections: overnight Thursday May 2 into Friday May 3; Friday May 3 daytime/evening; Saturday May 4; and Sunday May 5.

Within each section, the declaration times are broken down into the categories of councils, mayors and police & crime commissioners.

All timings are estimates based on information compiled by the PA news agency and are subject to change.

1. Overnight Thursday May 2 into Friday May 3


– 12.30am (May 3) Broxbourne

– 1.30am Hartlepool, Rochford, Sunderland

– 2am Bolton, Gosport, Ipswich, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North East Lincolnshire, South Tyneside, Wigan

– 2.30am Chorley, Eastleigh, Fareham, Hart, Oldham, Portsmouth, Rushmoor, Southend-on-Sea

– 2.45am Exeter

– 3am Harlow, Kingston-upon-Hull, Lincoln, Sefton, Tameside, Thurrock

– 3.15am Reading

– 3.30am Colchester, Gateshead, Redditch, Stockport

– 4am Peterborough, Plymouth

– 4.30am Southampton

– 5.30am Winchester

Police & crime commissioners:

– 1.30am Cumbria

– 2.30am Avon & Somerset

– 3am Lincolnshire

2. Friday May 3 daytime/evening


– 11am Norwich

– 12pm Blackburn with Darwen, Walsall

– 12.30pm Castle Point, Havant

– 1pm Cannock Chase, Manchester, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield

– 1.30pm Burnley, Preston, Sheffield, West Oxfordshire

– 2pm Basildon, Brentwood, Hyndburn, Knowsley, Nuneaton & Bedworth, Rossendale

– 2.30pm Crawley, Rochdale, Solihull

– 3pm Barnsley, Hastings, Kirklees, Maidstone, Rotherham, Three Rivers

– 3.30pm Halton, Milton Keynes, Sandwell, Trafford

– 4pm Adur, Bury, Calderdale, Cheltenham, Epping Forest, Pendle, St Albans, Swindon, Tunbridge Wells, Woking, Wokingham

– 4.30pm Dudley, Leeds, Wakefield

– 5pm Basingstoke & Deane, Bradford, Cambridge, Coventry, Oxford, Runnymede, Tandridge, Worthing

– 5.30pm Rugby, Wolverhampton, Worcester

– 5.45pm Cherwell

– 6pm Mole Valley, North Hertfordshire, Reigate & Banstead, Stevenage, Tamworth

– 6.30pm Bristol, Elmbridge

– 7pm Dorset

– 8pm West Lancashire

– 10pm Gloucester


– 12pm North East

– 12.30pm Tees Valley

– 2.30pm East Midlands

– 3pm York & North Yorkshire

Police & crime commissioners:

– 1pm Gwent, North Wales

– 1.30pm Humberside

– 2pm Cambridgeshire & Peterborough, Hampshire, Suffolk

– 3pm Bedfordshire, Devon & Cornwall, Dyfed-Powys, Norfolk, Surrey

– 3.30pm Leicestershire

– 4pm Essex, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, South Wales, Staffordshire

– 4.30pm Northumbria

– 5pm Cleveland, Durham, Gloucestershire, Nottinghamshire

– 6pm Derbyshire, West Mercia

3. Saturday May 4


– 4pm North Tyneside, Stroud, Warrington


– 12pm Liverpool City Region

– 1.30pm London*

– 2pm South Yorkshire

– 3pm West Midlands

– 3.15pm West Yorkshire

– 4pm Greater Manchester

– 5pm Salford

*The local constituency results of the London mayoral election will be declared first, at each of the 14 counts across the capital. A formal announcement of the overall result will be made at City Hall later in the day. 1.30pm is an estimate of when the overall result is likely to have become clear from the constituency results, and is not an estimate of the time of the formal announcement at City Hall.

Police & crime commissioners:

– 12pm Hertfordshire

– 2pm Thames Valley

– 2.30pm Warwickshire, West Midlands

– 3pm Cheshire, Dorset

– 3.30pm Merseyside

– 4pm Wiltshire

4. Sunday May 5


– 3pm Salford

Police & crime commissioners:

– 3.30pm Sussex

– 4pm Kent