Constituency Profile: Chris Hazzard wins South Down

Sinn Féin has dramatically seized the long-time SDLP stronghold of South Down.

Chris Hazzard has become the republican party's first MP in the area with 20,328 votes.

Mr Hazzard beat the SDLP's Margaret Ritchie - who had held the seat from 2010 - by more than 2,000 votes.

In his victory speech, Mr Hazzard said he was delighted the Sinn Féin message "has resonated so positively and popularly this year".

"We are now entering a new era in South Down," he said.

Mr Hazzard added that Sinn Féin "will fight Brexit and Tory austerity" and said he "can't wait to get stuck in".

For a full list of results click here.

Ms Ritchie - who easily beat Mr Hazzard in the 2015 general election - said Brexit had changed the political landscape but insisted she was "going to live and fight another day".

"I can hold my head high here tonight because of the level of service and representation provided by me and the SDLP over the last number of years.

"I am not going away. I am going to live and fight another day. The people of South Down also want service and representation. They want that delivered here in the constituency and also in parliament," Ms Ritchie said.

Sinn Féin had put a massive effort into winning the constituency, a seat which the SDLP had held since 1997.

Ms Ritchie first won the seat in 2010 after taking over from her friend and mentor, the late Eddie McGrady.



Chris Hazzard (SF) 20,328  votes   (39.94% share)   +11.40%

Margaret Ritchie (SDLP) 17,882  (35.14%)  -7.20%

Diane Forsythe (DUP)  8,867   (17.42%)   +9.26%

Harold McKee (UUP)   2,002   (3.93%)   -5.35%

Andrew McMurray (All)   1,814   (3.56%)   -0.23%

Electorate 75,685

Turnout 50,893 (67.24%)  +10.48%

Constituency Quick Links

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access