Ten records chosen for Scottish Album of the Year Award shortlist

Nine albums have been chosen by the judging panel with one other decided by fans via an online poll, with the overall winner crowned on September 6.

Ten records have been chosen for the shortlist of the 2019 Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award.

Nine albums were picked by the judging panel with one other decided by fans via an online poll.

Each artist has won a guaranteed £1,000 prize from Creative Scotland, with the overall £20,000 prize winner being crowned on Friday September 6 at Edinburgh’s Assembly Rooms.

Previous winners Kathryn Joseph, RM Hubbert and Aidan Moffat are among those included on the 2019 shortlist.

Robert Kilpatrick, general manager of the Scottish Music Industry Association, said: “A huge congratulations to the 10 albums making up the SAY Award shortlist for 2019.

“This year’s shortlist presents an incredibly exciting and eclectic snapshot of the strength of Scotland’s recorded output, and we’re delighted to celebrate, promote and reward the incredible works of Scottish artists as we approach this year’s ceremony at The Assembly Rooms in Edinburgh.

“Best of luck to each of the shortlisted albums. It’s with great pride that through the SAY Award we can shine a light on truly incredible pieces of artistic works that play a key part in our cultural identity as a nation.”

The Scottish Album of the Year Award shortlist is:
Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body
Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian
Auntie Flo – Radio Highlife
C Duncan – Health
Carla J Easton – Impossible Stuff
Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas
Free Love – Luxury Hits
Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson – Laws of Motion
Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is
Mastersystem – Dance Music (winner of the public vote)

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: