Hurling & Camogie

Armagh denied All-Ireland minor glory by Kildare

Tyrone and Tipperary also claimed national titles at different grades

Aoibhin Donohue
Armagh's Aoibhin Donohue in action in the defeat to Kildare. Picture: John Merry (J_Merry)

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor B Camogie Championship final

Kildare 3-12 Armagh 3-7

KILDARE finished strongly in this decider in Kinnegad, taking the lead through Rebecca McDermott in the 58th minute and then sealing victory with a goal from Ciara Ryan in injurytime.

They had a dream start to the game with two goals in nine minutes. Hannah Finnerty did the spadework for Anna Coburn to score the first at the second attempt, after Sarah Connolly had made a brilliant save from her first shot.

Rebecca McDermott then scored the second, flicking the sliotar in front of her and stroking it off the ground past the advancing Connolly.

Armagh, however, responded magnificently with three green flags to lead at half-time by 3-4 to 2-4.

The first was a brilliant finish to the roof of the net by Naoise Hughes, after she had raced onto a Molly Fegan pass.

Hughes then provided the assist for an Aoibhin Donohue goal, seconds after the Derrymacash forward had pointed.

And Donohue bagged a third goal on the half-hour, netting following excellent work by Hughes and a pass by Rionagh Leneghan.

Kildare settled after the break, however, and with McDermott accurate from placed balls, they had drawn level by the three-quarter mark.

It was nip and tuck from there to the end with Armagh’s only scores coming from Hughes frees.

McDermott then edged Kildare into the lead and Ciara Ryan sealed the win in added time.

In the earlier game, Westmeath won the Minor B Shield derby against Meath by 4-11 to 2-7 after leading by 3-6 to 1-4 at half-time.

Armagh scorers A Donohue 2-2; N Hughes 1-5 (0-3f)

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor C Camogie Championship final

Tyrone 3-13 Mayo 1-11

TYRONE are the All-Ireland Minor C champions after they overcame Mayo in Drumlane on Sunday.

Hannah Hauttman and Ava Dooley shot some lovely scores for Mayo as they led by 0-7 to 0-6 at half-time.

Although Hauttman stretched the gap to three on the re-start, Tyrone, inspired by Emer Cunningham, hit back for 3-5 inside 10 minutes to turn the decider on its head.

Kate Daly’s delivery caused problems in the Mayo defence in 39th minute and Rhianne McLoughlin got the final touch for the first goal. A couple of minutes later McLoughlin pounced on a defensive error to add a second.

Five minutes further on, Grace Daly added a third Tyrone goal to put the Ulster side in control of the game.

Laura Flanagan bagged an injury-time goal for Mayo but it was too late to save the Connacht side.

Emer Cunningham was named as player-of-the-match, with Sinenna Gildernew in goals, defenders Úna McCrory and Clara Doherty, and Orlaith McElduff other players to shine for Tyrone, while McLoughlin, Cullen and Catherine Moohan were all a scoring threat.


Tyrone R McLoughlin 2-1; E Cunnigham 0-5; C Moohan 0-4 (0-1f); G Daly 1-0; E Cullen 0-2, O McElduff 0-1

Mayo L Flanagan 1-2 (0-2f); H Hauttman 0-6 (0-4f); L Greally & C Greally 0-1 each

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor A Camogie Championship final

Tipperary 2-9 Waterford 0-10

A WHIRLWIND start that yielded two goals and established a 10-point lead left Waterford too much to do in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor A Camogie final at UPMC Nowlan Park.

It was a second consecutive defeat for Waterford after losing to Cork in their first decider last year but Tipp opened the scoring when Lucy Purcell lofted a side-line cut between the posts from a tight angle for a brilliant two-pointer.

Caoimhe Stakelum pointed a 45 and Purcell hit the net in the 10th minute before Ava Bevans grabbed another Purcell side-line and buried it in the net from 12 metres.

Tipperary led by 2-4 to 0-3 at the interval and pulled away in the third quarter before the Déise hit six of the last seven points to close the gap before the end.

The Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor A Shield final between Dublin and Wexford ended in a draw, 1-9 to 2-6, a Katie Bolger point earning a reprieve for Wexford girls. The replay will take next weekend.


Tipperary L Purcell 1-2 (0-2 sideline); C Stakelum 0-4f; A Bevans 1-0; L Heffernan, C Shelly & E McGrath 0-1 each

Waterford M Gostl 0-4 (0-3); A Bonnar 0-2; R Farrell, E Fitzgerald, E O’Neill & N Ryan 0-1 each

Armagh City Hotel Ulster U16A Camogie Championship final

Antrim 4-12 Derry 2-9

ANTRIM won back the Ulster U16A title in Randalstown on Saturday by opening up a gap coming into half-time that Derry simply couldn’t close again.

Even though a goal from Emma Quinn put Derry ahead by 1-4 to 0-6 ahead after 20 minutes and the same player tapped over a free in the next attack, Eva McNeill (two) and Eimear McCaughan hit the net for Antrim before the break and they turned around with a 3-8 to 1-5 lead.

A goal on the re-start from substitute Eimhear McCloskey stretched that lead to 12 points, before a 40th-minute goal from substitute Róisín McAtamney brought Derry back into the game.

But the damage had been done and Antrim were content to trade points from then until the final whistle.

Meanwhile Cavan retained the U16 C title with an emphatic win over Donegal in Ballinagh.

Antrim E McNeill 2-4 (0-1f); M Laverty 0-4; E McCaughan & E McCloskey 1-0 each; L McBride 0-2f; A Fitzsimons & A McAlister 0-1 each

Derry E Quinn 1-5 (0-5f); R McAtamney 1-1; E McCartney, E Cullen & MT McCullagh 0-1 each