Eoghan Bán Gallagher on the bench for Donegal as they prepare to face Tyrone

None of the five U20 footballers promoted to senior make the Tyrone panel for the clash

Eoghan Ban Gallagher hopes Donegal's win in Clare can spark a revival in fortunes after a difficult run of results in 2023 Picture by Philip Walsh
Eoghan Ban Gallagher hopes Donegal's win in Clare can spark a revival in fortunes after a difficult run of results in 2023 Picture by Philip Walsh

DONEGAL have opted not to include Eoghan Bán Gallagher in their starting line-up for their All-Ireland round-robin stage tie against Ulster rivals Tyrone this weekend.

Gallagher started at corner-forward for the Ulster champions last time out against Armagh despite being out for months through injury.

The Killybegs man was a surprise last-minute starter in the Ulster showpiece, replacing captain Paddy McBrearty who was dropped to the bench for the start of the game.

However, Gallagher was replaced by Jamie Brennan in the second half after picking up a knock.

McBrearty’s return is the only change to the starting line-up from the Ulster final, the Donegal captain kicking two points off the bench in the win over Armagh that day.

Brian Dooher has decided not to name any of the five U20 All-Ireland winners who were promoted to the senior panel.

This will be the first game the Red Hands have played since their semi-final clash with Donegal, where the eventual Ulster champions squeezed past Tyrone in extra-time to reach the final thanks to a moment of magic by Paddy McBrearty.

Tyrone’s captain Peter Harte returns to the squad after missing the Ulster semi-final, however, Conall Devlin misses out having come off in that match.

Lorcan Quinn, and Conor Cush have stepped away from the Tyrone panel in recent weeks with Oisin O’Kane and Cormac Quinn coming in and Dalaigh Jones also added to the 26.

Armagh have replaced the injured Rían O’Neill with Tiernan Kelly for their group clash with Westmeath at the Athletic Grounds after O’Neill limped off in the Ulster final against Donegal with Greg McCabe also being replaced by Conor O’Neill in the only other change to the 15 that started that game.

Donegal: S Patton, M Curran, B McCole, C Moore, R McHugh, C McGonagle, P Morgan, J McGee, M Langan, S O’Donnell, C Thompson, D O’Baoill, P McBrearty, O Gallen, N O’Donnell, G Mulreany, K McGettigan, S McMenamin, O Doherty, D MacGiolla Bhride, J MacCeallbhuí, L McGlynn, J Brennan, A Doherty, E Bán Gallagher, C MacAonghása

Tyrone: N Morgan, N Devlin, P Hampsey, M McKernan, B Cullen, M Donnelly, K McGeary, B Kennedy, C Kilpatrick, C Daly, M O’Neill, S O’Donnell, D McCurry, D Canavan, R Canavan, O O’Kane, A Clarke, C Donnelly, P Harte, D Jones, N McCarron, L McGarrity, C McShane, J Oguz, C Quinn, T Quinn

Armagh: B Hughes, P Burns, A McKay, P McGrane, C O’Neill, C Mackin, A Forker, T Kelly, B Crealey, J McElroy, R Grugan, S Campbell, O Conaty, A Murnin, C Turbitt, E Rafferty, B McCambridge, C Mackin, G McCabe, N Grimley, O O’Neill, S McPartlan, R McQuillan, J Óg Burns, A Nugent, J Duffy