Noise Annoys: Problem Patterns, Paper Tigers, Reevah and The Dangerfields

Problem Patterns, Paper Tigers and Reevah release new singles and The Dangerfields gear up for 20th anniversary mayhems...

Problem Patterns are back with new single Big Shouty
Problem Patterns are back with new single Big Shouty

HEY, ho, let's go with another edition of Noise Annoys, this week featuring another round-up of newly released local music for you to feed into your ears while festering indoors and/or sweating up a storm outside in the unseasonally hot sun during your government-approved session of daily exercise.

:: Problem Patterns – Big Shouty (single, self-released)

AN UNEXPECTED lockdown gift from the mighty Problem Patterns, Big Shouty lives up to the promise of its title: this sub-two minute smash-and-grab finds the fab four letting off some serious steam at the top of their lungs while crafting a driving pop punk dirge.

As the band themselves explain in the accompanying press release, the words to Big Shouty were penned by Ciara, Alanah and Bev, who take turns on the mic throughout: "Pulling from different personal experiences, bassist/singer Ciara's verse is a cheeky snarl at a recent incident where the band where listed as 'best bands with lady bits' [yuck], singer/guitarist Alanah speaks about the joys of being mansplained your own band" while the final verse vents guitarist/bassist Bev's "feelings of rage towards those who abuse their powers and deny human rights".

Based around the catchier-than-corona chorus chant of "don't put me in my place" and packed with plenty of melodic vocal 'woah-oah'-ing (as I believe professional musician types refer to it) as a counterpoint to the spiky guitars and Bethany's thumping drums, Big Shouty should strike a big loud chord with anyone feeling disrespected and/or disaffected at the moment. Expect it to hit number one on Sunday, then, where it should stay for several weeks.

Help launch Problem Patterns up the hit parade by grabbing Big Shouty today via Problempatterns.bandcamp.com or on Spotify.

Flames is the new single from Paper Tigers
Flames is the new single from Paper Tigers

:: Paper Tigers – Flames (single, self-released)

BELFAST rockers Paper Tigers also have a feisty new tune to soundtrack your ongoing house arrest in the form of their latest single Flames, a bracing blast of skronky/riffy guitars courtesy of Michael (THVS, ex-Comply or Die) and emotive vocalising from frontwoman Hayley, propelled along by blazing rhythm men Stevey (bass) and Mickey (drums).

A worthy follow-up to the Tigers' well-received debut single Gucci Smiles from earlier in the year, both tracks are now available on ye olde physical format CD (ask your dad) with an unreleased bonus track, No Ghosts Walk. If you're into collecting dead media then make sure to hit them up at Papertigersni.bigcartel.com, where you'll also find ways to convert your hard earned moolah into official Paper Tigers T-shirts, badges and stickers.

However, if it's just plain Jane streaming and downloads you're after, the band also have you covered at Papertigersni.bandcamp.com and indeed Spotify.

:: Reevah – You Said Tell Me (single, self-released)

DERRY indie/country/folkster Reevah, aka Aoife Boyle, continues to explore a more pop-orientated full band backed direction on her new single You Said, Tell Me, the final track to be released from her current EP A Different Light. Out today, it also features the previously released tunes Older Now and Weight of The World alongside another newie, the slow-burning piano powered heartbreak ballad Real Enough.

Showcasing Reevah's strong melodic vocals which strikes a sweet spot somewhere between Angel Olsen's world-weariness and the floaty emotiveness of Florence Welch, You Said,Tell Me has got a breezy conversational quality to it that's definitely easy on the ears, so check it out on Spotify if you're in the mood for something lighter lockdown listening.

Despite the fact that she's had to postpone her first ever full band tour of Ireland and Britain due to the ongoing coronavirus restrictions, Aoife is still making a point of celebrating today's release of the A Different Light EP: she will be doing a live streamed acoustic session tonight from 8pm at FB.com/reevahmusic and via Instagram Live at @reevahofficial, where you'll be able to hear tracks from the EP and other favourites besides.

:: The Dangerfields (2020 demos)

THEY'RE back (again): last year, Dangerfields mainman Andrew Griswold began plotting the latest reunion of these hard-touring Belfast 'not punks' to mark their 20th anniversary, ideally based around a hometown show featuring cameos from as many willing/surviving DF ex-members as possible.

Naturally, the only logical response to such fiendishness was the 'nuke from orbit' move of unleashing an unprecedented global pandemic guaranteed to decimate the live music scene and indeed life as we know it.

However, while Covid-19 may have put paid to The Dangerfields' planned shows in Manchester and Edinburgh this month, as it stands their DF 20/20 gig at the Belfast Barge on June 13 (unlucky for all) is still happening.

What's also happening is that a safely socially distanced Griswold and guitar grub Lee Batboy have been honing some brand new DFs material via electronic means which may or may not get an outing at the aforementioned show prior to being recorded and released as part of a future EP and/or LP – the band's first new musical 'product' since 2005's acclaimed debut/swansong album, Born To Rock.

Having recently listened to embryonic demos of new tunes like Die With Your Shades On, Heavy Mental, M'F' Earth and Final Girl, I'm pleased to report that they err on the Zeke-informed 'heavy 'n' nasty' side of the band's sound (think Voodoo Doll, Wolf Man, Bear Mtn. Rd et al), while London After Midnight and Miss America add intriguing 'rockabilly metal' and 'hair grunge' twists to their signature heavy pummel.

More on that as and when I hear it/have it. In the meantime, point your vile browser at Tinyurl.com/dfs2020belfast in order to secure tickets for the DF 20/20 show on June 13 – hey, it might still happen – and revisit Born To Rock on Spotify at Tinyurl.com/dfsborntorock.


The Police – Next To You

Mudhoney – You Got It (Keep it Outta My Face)

Wheezing Maniac – Don't Come Close

Mega City Four – Miles Apart

Motorhead – Stay Clean

Anthrax – Antisocial

Graham Parker – Protection

The Smiths – Hand In Glove

The Jam – Mr Clean

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Cabin Fever