Paralympics Ireland announces 44-strong Irish Team for Rio 2016 Paralympic Games

Ireland's Michael McKillop, from Glengormley, Co. Antrim, celebrates after winning the Men's 1500m T37 final with a time of 4:16.19 at the IPC Athletics World Championships. Doha, Qatar

IRELAND'S team of 44 athletes, who will compete across nine different sports at the Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, (from September 7 to 18) includes three reigning world champions (athletics and cycling) and two defending Paralympic champions, Jason Smyth and Michael McKillop, who will be aiming to defend their titles in the 100m (T13) and 1,500m (T37) respectively.

Also featuring for athletics is London 2012 bronze medallist and World Championship silver medallist Orla Barry, who will be joined by World Championship silver medallist and world record holder, Noelle Lenihan along with European record holder Niamh McCarthy - both of whom will feature at a Paralympic Games for the first time.

Meanwhile in swimming, Dubliner Ellen Keane will be attending her third Paralympic Games at the age of 21, while James Scully will be returning for his second Games.

For the first time ever, Ireland will compete in canoeing at the Paralympic Games and it is also hoped that there will be Irish athletes representing their country in para-triathlon, with the qualification window for this sport scheduled to close later in July.

Speaking at the team announcement at Dublin’s City Hall, Irish Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, PatrickO’Donovan said: “I would like to congratulate all of the athletes on their selection for the 2016 Paralympic Games. It is a tremendous honour for each of the 44 athletes who have been selected to represent Ireland at the Rio Games and they can all be very proud of that achievement.

“I have no doubt that they will be wonderful ambassadors for Ireland and for their respective sports. I would like to wish all of the athletes well in their final preparations for Rio.”

Chef de Mission for the Irish Team, Denis Toomey, commented: “Team announcement day is a major milestone on Paralympic Ireland’s road to Rio. Qualifications and selections are complete and today we have announced those athletes who will represent Ireland at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

“As Chef de Mission, it has been both an honour and a privilege to be tasked with telling the nation who the lucky athletes are and I certainly look forward to leading them all to Rio for the Games.”

Paralympic Performance Director, Dave Malone, spoke about the Irish Paralympic Team’s performance goals for Rio 2016: “Irish athletes will go to Rio this September and compete for glory against approximately 4,350 athletes from all parts of the world over the course of 11 days.

“The team is ready to achieve great personal and collective success at the Games, and their performances throughout the qualification process for Rio indicates that a medal target of eight for the team is achievable. We also anticipate a large number of finals from the team, and we are seeking career best performances from as many of the team as possible on the biggest stage of all.

“We have ring fenced all available supports around the athletes in order to ensure that they can produce their optimum performance on the international stage.”

The first wave of athletes will depart on August 23rd, and will use the Irish Holding Camp in Uberlandia, Brazil to prepare for the Games, which has been set up with the generous support of Sport Ireland.

Coverage of the Rio 2016 Paralympics Games will be available on RTÉ with thanks to Allianz throughout the duration of the Games, on TV, radio and online.

Team Ireland for the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Note: *denotes first time Paralympian

Orla Barry
Ladysbridge, Cork
F57 Discus
Orla Comerford*
Howth, Co. Dublin
T13 100m
Paul Keogan*
Skyrne, Co. Meath
T37 400m
Noelle Lenihan*
Charleville, Co. Cork
F38 Discus
Niamh McCarthy*
Carrigaline, Co. Cork
F41 Discus
Michael McKillop
Newtownabbey, Co. Antrim
T37 1500m
Patrick Monahan*
Naas, Co. Kildare
T53 800m and Marathon
Deirdre Mongan
Milltown, Co. Galway
F53 Shot Put
Jason Smyth
Eglinton, Co. Derry
T13 100m
Greta Streimikyte*
Swords, Co. Dublin
T13 1500m

Eoghan Clifford*
Galway, Co. Galway
Men’s individual pursuit C3
Men’s C3 Time Trial
Men’s C1-3 Road Race
Katie-George Dunleavy
Crawley, UK
With pilot
Eve McCrystal*
Jenkinstown, Co. Louth
Women’s Individual B Kilo
Women’s individual pursuit B
Women’s B Time Trial
Women’s B Road Race
Colin Lynch
Macclesfield, UK
Men’s individual pursuit C2
Men’s C2 Time Trial
Men’s C1-3 Road Race
Ciara Staunton*
Baltinglass, Co. Wicklow
Women’s H1-3 Time Trial
Women’s H1-4 Road Race
Declan Slevin*
Moate, Co. Westmeath
Men’s H3 Time Trial
Men’s H3 Road Race
Damien Vereker*
Co. Kilkenny now based in Waterford, Co. Waterford
With pilot
Sean Hahessy*
Carrick on Suir, Co. Tipperary
Men’s Individual Pursuit B
Men’s individual kilo B finals
Men’s B Time Trial
Men’s B Road Race

Helen Kearney
Dunlavin, Co. Wicklow
Grade 1A Championship
Grade 1A Freestyle

Luke Evans (C)
Artane, Co. Dublin
The Irish CP Football team will face Brazil, Ukraine and Great Britain in the group stages.
They will play these group games on:
September 8th, 10th and 12th.
The semi-finals of the competition will take place on September 14th with the final on September 16th.
Venue: Deodoro Stadium
Tomiwa Badun*
Dundalk, Co. Louth
Cormac Birt*
Toomebridge, Co. Antrim
Joseph Markey
Clontibret, Monaghan
Brian McGillivary
Firhouse, Co. Dublin
Carl McKee*
Swords, Co. Dublin
Gary Messett
Bray, Co. Wicklow
Ryan Nolan*
Bray, Co. Wicklow
Eric O’Flaherty*
Mervue, Co. Galway
Dillon Sheridan *
Ballyfermot, Co. Dublin
Aaron Tier*
Limerick, Co. Limerick
Conor Tuite*
Drogheda, Co. Louth
Jordan Walker*
Belfast, Co. Antrim
Ryan Walker*
Glenanne, Co. Armagh

John Twomey
Ballinahassig, Cork
3 Person Keelboat (Sonar)
Austin O’Carroll*
Phibsoboro, Co. Dublin
3 Person Keelboat (Sonar)
Ian Costelloe
Killorglin, Co. Kerry
3 Person Keelboat (Sonar)

Sean Baldwin
Newbridge, Co. Kildare
R1 10m Air Rifle Standing
R3 10m Air Rifle Prone
R6 50m Free Rifle Prone
R7 50m Free Rifle 3x40
Phillip Eaglesham*
Dungannon, Co. Tyrone
R5 10m Air Rifle Prone

Ellen Keane
Clontarf, Co. Dublin
SB8 100m Breaststroke
S9 100m Butterfly
S9 100m Backstroke
SM9 200m Individual Medley
Ailbhe Kelly*
Castleknock, Co. Dublin
S8 100m Backstroke
S8 100m Freestyle
S8 400m Freestyle
James Scully
Ratoath, Co. Meath
S5 50m Freestyle
S5 100m Freestyle
S5 200m Freestyle
Nicole Turner*
Portarlington, Co. Laois
S6 50m Butterfly
S6 50m Freestyle
S6 100m Freestyle
SB6 100m Breaststroke
SM6 200m Individual Medley
S6 400m Freestyle

Rena McCarron Rooney
Buncrana, Co. Donegal
TT2 Single

Paralympics Ireland Support Staff

Paralympics Ireland HQ team: D. Toomey, D. Malone, N. Buffini

SPORTS SCIENCE & MEDICAL TEAM: J Conway, S McIvor, A Swanton, J Faulkner, J. O’Donovan, J. Loughrey, T. Divilly

CAMP SUPPORT TEAM (UBERLANDIA): A. Rossiter, N. Murphy, G. Byas, A. Gardiner

ATHLETICS: J. Nolan, D. Sweeney, M. Bergin, E. O’Brien

CANOEING: N. Fleming

CYCLING: T. McGowan, N. Delahaye, G. Beggs, E. Murphy, P. Lynch

EQUESTRIAN: D. Redmond, L. Bagge

FOOTBALL: B. Ferguson, JJ Glynn, B. Moore, G. McCormack


SHOOTING: R. Kane, R. Morris

SWIMMING: H. Burke, J Laverty, C. Sinnott O’Connor


Irish world champions and world record holders
Reigning Irish Paralympic Champions:
Jason Smyth: T13 100m & 200m
Michael McKillop : T37 800m & 1500m

Current Irish World Champions :
Michael McKillop: T37 800m & 1500m
Jason Smyth: T13 100m & 200m
Eoghan Clifford: C3 Road Time Trial

Current Irish World Record holders:
Michael McKillop: T37 800m & 1500m
Jason Smyth: T13 100m & 200m
Noelle Lenihan: F38 Discus


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: