Q and BBC among big winners at Irish Radio Awards

The award-winning Q Radio news team at the IMRO awards in the Lyrath Hotel, Kilkenny. Pictured are Jono Gold, Bob Huggins, Hannah Spratt, David Hunter and Eleanor McEvoy, chair of IMRO.
Gareth McKeown

A NUMBER of local radio stations were among the big winners at the prestigious IMRO Radio Awards.

BBC Radio Ulster/Foyle picked up seven gold awards, while Q Radio was recognised with the ‘Best News Bulletin’ accolade on Saturday night in Kilkenny.

Among the BBC winners were The Stephen Nolan Show in the ‘News Story’ category for its coverage of the RHI scandal, while broadcasters John Toal and Mark Patterson, along with news reporter Kevin McGee, pictured, were also recognised for their work throughout the year.

Q Radio, now based at the Fountain Centre in Belfast city centre, was rewarded for its news bulletin on March 23, which reported on the funerals of former deputy first minister Martin McGuiness and Derry City Football Club captain Ryan McBride.

Q Radio’s head of news Bob Huggins said he was delighted that the hard work, dedication and professionalism of the team had been rewarded.

“Our reporters did a wonderful job – their gutsy determination and enthusiasm in what was a very difficult day brought out the very best in them – both journalistically and ethically.

“We are a locally owned radio station operating across Northern Ireland, delivering local news that matters to our growing number of listeners.”

This year’s IMRO awards, which recognise the best of programming in news, current affairs and sports, were the most hotly contested in their 17-year history, attracting 677 entries across 37 categories. RTÉ were the big winners on the night,scooping eight awards, including Full Service Station of the Year for RTE Radio 1.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: