Hurling and camogie

Limerick follow Dublin's lead to land nine Allstars plus Player of the Year

Padraig Kelly

LIMERICK have followed the lead of football champions Dublin by claiming nine spots on the 2020 PwC Hurling Allstar team - plus the Player of the Year award.

Dublin ace Brian Fenton pocketed his second Footballer of the Year award in three seasons, while St Patrick's clubman Gearóid Hegarty capped a great night for Limerick scooping the hurling honours.

With nine awards, Limerick become only the second county in the history of the hurling Allstars to have that many players on a team with Kilkenny having nine representatives in 1983, 2000 and 2008.

All-Ireland finalists Waterford have picked up three awards while Galway, Clare and Kilkenny have also been recognised.

It’s Limerick who rule the roost though after a stunning 2020 campaign with nine of their 14 nominations making it to the final 15.

Amongst the notable award winners were goalkeeper Nicky Quaid whose father, the late Tommy Quaid, was selected on the 1992 team. As a result, they become only the fourth hurling father and son combination to pick up Allstars after Fan Larkin and Philly Larkin, Richie Power Snr and Richie Power Jnr (both Kilkenny) and Ken Hogan and Brian Hogan (Tipperary).

Treaty corner-back Seán Finn was named in defence for the third year in-a-row while there were first-time awards for his team-mates Diarmaid Byrnes, Kyle Hayes, Gearóid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey.

Morrissey’s older brother Dan was also named in the side, as were Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane.

Two members of the selection, Galway’s Daithí Burke and Killenny’s TJ Reid, have picked up their fifth Allstars although this is only the second time they have been on the same team having both been honoured in 2015.

Waterford’s memorable run to the All-Ireland final saw them pick up three awards with Tadhg de Búrca named in the half-back line, Jamie Barron selected at midfield while Stephen Bennett became the 1500th person to pick up an award after being named at corner-forward.

The final award went to Clare midfielder Tony Kelly who produced some sensational scoring displays throughout the Championship.


Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

Hurling and camogie