GAA Football

Loreto Cavan rewrite the history books with historic All-Ireland schools double triumph

20 April 2018; The jubilant Loreto, Cavan squad which won the All-Ireland Junior A final (to add to the Senior A final last week): (from left: back row) Lorna O'Reilly, Aine Reilly, Muireann Smith, Aisling MacManus, Elaine Brady, Darcey Beck, Niamh Brady, Aisling Walls, and Ally Cahill (front row from left): Ciara Boylan, Niamh McCorry, Hannah Smith, Olivia Murphy, Ciara Kellegher and Katie Briody. The Loreto ladies footballers defeated ISK, Killorgin, Kerry in the final at St Rynagh's in Banagher, Co. Offaly. Picture: Matt Browne/Sportsfile
Louise Gunn

Lidl Post Primary Schools All-Ireland Junior A Championship Final: Loreto Cavan 3-11 Intermediate School Killorglin (Kerry) 1-10

LORETO Cavan rewrote the history books for the second time in less than a week when they completed an historic All-Ireland schools double with the junior team triumphing over IS Killorglin yesterday afternoon in Banagher.

Just as John the Baptist School Limerick did last year, Loreto Cavan added the junior schools ‘A' title to their senior ‘A' title collected last Saturday and for 15 of the school's students, they now have two All-Ireland winners' medals.

Unlike the senior final, Loreto Cavan made the ideal start and found the back of the net after just eight minutes through Aine Reilly to give them an early advantage.

However, it the Munster champions responded and it was they who led at half-time by the narrowest of margins, 1-7 to 1-6, Roisin Griffin with the Killorglin major to finish the half with an impressive 1-5 to her name.

Trailing by one point, managers Conor Maguire and Aine Shannon and their players, found themselves in familiar territory as the seniors too trailed by the minimum.

And just like on the resumption of that game, the juniors made an immediate impact after the resumption.

Two unanswered points from Niamh McCorry and Aine Reilly edged the Ulster champions in front and when McCorry fired their second goal they were four clear as the game entered the final quarter.

The sides continued to trade points before substitute Lucy Jayne Grant wrapped up the title with her side's third goal to queue the double All-Ireland celebrations.

Loreto Cavan: J Reilly; C Kellegher (0-1), H Smith, N Brady; K Tuipulotu, M Smith, O Murphy; E Brady (0-1), D Beck; A Cahill, N McCorry (1-3, 0-2f), L O'Reilly; A Crowe, Á Reilly (1-3), A Walls (0-2).

Subs: C Kennedy for N Brady, C Boylan for J Reilly, G Beatty for Crowe, LJ Grant (1-1) for O'Reilly, A McKiernan for Cahill.

IS Killorglin: C Fealey; S Foley, E O'Connor (0-1), B Brosnan; O Dunphy, K McGlashan, A Nolan; A Clifford (0-1), R Evans; N Moriarty, C Joy, E Burke; M Duffy, R Griffin (1-6, 0-3f), F Houlihan (0-2).

Subs: L Hayes for Burke, T Clifford for Moriarty, C MacMahon for Houlihan.

Referee: Jonathan Murphy (Carlow)

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

GAA Football