GAA Football

Four Slaughtneil stars make first AIB Football Team of the Championship

Slaughtneil goalkeeper Antoin McMullan has been chosen on the first ever AIB GAA Club Players’ football team of the championship. Picture Margaret McLaughlin

All-Ireland champions Corofin have been rewarded with six players on the first ever AIB GAA Club Players’ football team of the championship.

Inspirational dual club Slaughtneil have the next highest representation with four footballers from the Derry club selected. Antóin McMullan, Karl McKaigue, Chrissy McKaigue, and Christopher 'Sammy' Bradley all feature after their exploits over the season.

The new GAA initiative has reviewed the outstanding performances at provincial and All-Ireland level in the AIB Club Championships with a cross-section of GAA media voting on a final 15.

Galway and Connacht champions Corofin had to show plenty of resilience en route to Croke Park, but cut loose on St Patrick’s Day where they produced a sensational shooting display against Nemo Rangers to capture the club’s third AIB All-Ireland senior club football title.

The result is that Liam Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald, Dylan Wall, Michael Farragher, Ian Burke, and Martin Farragher have all been awarded a place on the inaugural football team of the championship.

In an additional coup for the club, Corofin also completely dominate the short list for AIB GAA Club footballer of the year with Burke, Farragher, and Silke making the short-list.

Stylish half-back James Murray and sharp-shooter Eanna O’Connor represent Kildare and Leinster champions Moorefield.

Despite their misfire in the All-Ireland final, there was still much to admire about Nemo Rangers, particularly in a typically tough Munster campaign, and midfielder Alan O’Connor and full forward Luke Connolly represent the Cork and Munster champions.

The team is completed by Donegal star Patrick McBrearty who was in sensational form for his club Kilcar over the course of their two matches in the Ulster club championship and was a class apart in the full-forward line.

Specially commissioned awards by Jarlath Daly will be presented to the players at a banquet at Croke Park on Saturday, April 21 where the AIB GAA Club Footballer of the Year will be announced live on the night.

The AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards for Hurling will be announced on April 18.

The team in full is:


1. Antóin McMullan (Slaughtneil)

2. Liam Silke (Corofin)

3. Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin)

4. Karl McKaigue (Slaughtneil)

5. James Murray (Moorefield)

6. Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil)

7. Dylan Wall (Corofin)

8. Alan O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

9. Michael Farragher (Corofin)

10. Eanna O’Connor (Moorefield

11. Christopher Bradley (Slaughtneil)

12. Ian Burke (Corofin)

13. Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar)

14. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

15. Martin Farragher (Corofin)


Ian Burke, Michael Farragher , and Liam Silke (all Corofin).

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

GAA Football