GAA Football

Loreto, Milford hold their nerve to claim Arthurs Cup honours

Séamas McAleenan

Danske Bank Arthurs Cup final: Loreto CS, Milford 1-9 Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dóbhair 1-3

Loreto Community School, Milford are the new holders of the Danske Bank Arthurs Cup after a surprise victory over Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dobhair yesterday in Convoy.

And they clinched it in dramatic fashion in the 56th minute when Shane Black got on the end of superb length-of-the-field move.

Black cracked a rocket off a post, but it fell neatly for the unmarked Kyle McFadden to slot home from eight metres.

It would have been a travesty had Milford not won, because they dominated possession over the hour.

However their shot selection was poor and Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dóbhair, who had beaten them easily in the league sections, were always in with a shout.

The Black brothers, Conor and Stephen at half-back, Rory O'Donnell at midfield, John McGroddy and Kyle McFadden all stood tall yesterday to wrest the initiative from the favourites and they managed it without the influential Liam McGrenaghan who had to retire injured at the end of the opening quarter.

Gaoth Dóbhair will be disappointed with their overall performance, but there were decent efforts from Domhnall Mac Giolla Bhríde, Mícheál and Jamie Ó Dochartaigh and Joey Mac Giolla Easpaig who essentially was their only chance of scores against a resolute Milford defence.

Milford led by 0-4 to 0-1 at the end of a tense enough opening half.

Points from John McGroddy (2), Kyle McFadden and Liam McGranaghan were scant reward for the posses-sion they enjoyed while Mac Giolla Easpaig raised Gaoth Dóbhair only flag.

Milford stayed in control for most of the second half although they didn't convert enough chances and that meant that when Mac Giolla Easpaig finished a speedy Gaoth Dóbhair break with a goal after 45 minutes the game was really in the melting pot at 0-9 to 1-3.

Then Cian Mac an tSaoi narrowed the gap further with a point for the westerners and any-thing could have happened.

However Loreto held their nerve and grabbed the late goal to take their first title at this level and spark plenty of celebration along the line.

Loreto: A McBride, L McAlary, C Coll, D Dorrian, Stephen Black, C Black, A Reid, R O'Donnell, C Moore, Shane Black, L McGrenaghan, T McBride, J McGroddy, S McDaid, K McFadden

Subs: M McLaughlin for L McGrenaghan (15), C McFadden for T McBride (35), E Cullen for S McDaid (41)

Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dóbhair : D Mac Roibeaird, M Ó Dochartaigh, R Ó Tuirc, A Breathnach, D Mac Giolla Bhríde, F Mac Giolla Chomhaill, C Ó Hanlon, E De Búrca, F Mac Giolla Chomhaill, C Mac an tSaoi 0-1, K Ó Dugáin, J Mac Giolla Easpaig 1-3, J Ó Dochartaigh, S Mac Phaidín, C Mac Giolla Bhríde

Subs: P Ó Fearraigh for C Mac Giolla Bhríde (55)

Referee: Eoin Doherty (Naomh Columba)

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

GAA Football