New Euro 2020 Fixtures: games scheduled for Dublin move to London and St Petersburg

Dublin's Aviva Stadium was due to host three Group E matches at Euro 2020, as well as a last-16 tie
Neil Loughran

THE four Euro 2020 games scheduled to take place in Dublin this summer will instead take place in London and Russia after the Irish government and the FAI were unable to guarantee spectator attendance.

After weeks of speculation, Uefa yesterday confirmed that three Group E matches featuring Slovakia, Sweden and Poland have been moved from the Aviva Stadium to St Petersburg, with the last-16 game set for Dublin on June 29 moved to Wembley.

Uefa said tickets for those matches originally scheduled for Dublin and Bilbao would be cancelled and refunded, and those ticket buyers will receive priority access to tickets in the reassigned venues.

Football Association of Ireland chief executive Jonathan Hill admitted that “circumstances beyond our control” had led to Dublin losing out on its place in the rescheduled Euros.

He said: "The Dublin LOS [Local Organising Structure] partners have worked tirelessly together since the pandemic first struck last year to facilitate the staging of these games.

"The reality here is that circumstances beyond our control have led to the games being moved and we have to acknowledge that public health must come first in a global pandemic.

"This is the end of the Euro 2020 project but the dedication and professionalism of all involved makes everyone at the FAI more determined than ever to bring big games and big tournaments to our country."

Hill also also confirmed that the FAI had “very constructive talks” about the possibility of Dublin hosting a European club final after 2023.

On the Euros front though, Dublin was not the only city to lose out, with Bilbao's four matches switched to Seville. Munich, meanwhile, has provided guarantees that at least 14,500 will be able to attend the four matches it is hosting, including a quarter-final on July 2.

Yesterday’s decision means Wembley will now host eight matches - three group games, two last 16 ties, the semis and the final. St Petersburg now has seven matches.

As a result of this latest reshuffle, England could play their first four matches of the finals at Wembley if they win Group D, before potentially moving to Rome for the quarter-finals.

"We have been working diligently with the host associations and local authorities to ensure a safe and festive environment at the games and I am really pleased that we are able to welcome spectators at all matches for a celebration of national team football across the continent,” said Uefa president Aleksander Ceferin.

"Uefa wishes to express its appreciation and gratitude to the cities of Bilbao and Dublin - both of which are considered as good venues to host future UEFA events - the national and regional governments of Spain and the Republic of Ireland, and all local stakeholders for their dedication, professionalism and efforts over the past years.

"Uefa would also like to thank the Football Association of Ireland and its dedicated staff for their excellent collaboration and hard work, and is looking forward to continuing to work with the remaining 11 host associations in delivering Euro 2020 matches."

Uefa said the Andalusian regional authorities had told it the venue in Seville - La Cartuja stadium - would be at 30 per cent capacity.

St Petersburg has previously confirmed a minimum capacity of 50 per cent for its Krestovsky Stadium, and could be in a position to increase that by the end of the month.

The English Football Association has targeted a capacity of 22,500 for its group games and last 16 ties, and is looking at 45,000 as a minimum for the semi-finals and final.




Friday, June 11

Group A: Turkey vs Italy (8pm, Rome)


Saturday, June 12

Group A: Wales vs Switzerland (2pm, Baku)

Group B: Denmark vs Finland (5pm, Copenhagen)

Group B: Belgium vs Russia (8pm, St Petersburg)


Sunday, June 13

Group D: England vs Croatia (2pm, London)

Group C: Austria vs North Macedonia (5pm, Bucharest)

Group C: Holland vs Ukraine (8pm, Amsterdam)


Monday, June 14

Group D: Scotland vs Czech Republic (2pm, Glasgow)

Group E: Poland vs Slovakia (5pm, St Petersburg)

Group E: Spain vs Sweden (8pm, Seville)


Tuesday, June 15

Group F: Hungary vs Portugal (5pm, Budapest)

Group F: France vs Germany (8pm, Munich)


Wednesday, June 16

Group B: Finland vs Russia (2pm, St Petersburg)

Group A: Turkey vs Wales (5pm, Baku)

Group A: Italy vs Switzerland (8pm, Rome)


Thursday, June 17

Group C: Ukraine vs North Macedonia (2pm, Bucharest)

Group B: Denmark vs Belgium (5pm, Copenhagen)

Group C: Holland vs Austria (8pm, Amsterdam)


Friday, June 18

Group E: Sweden vs Slovakia (2pm, St Petersburg)

Group D: Croatia vs Czech Republic (5pm, Glasgow)

Group D: England vs Scotland (8pm, London)


Saturday, June 19

Group F: Hungary vs France (2pm, Budapest)

Group F: Portugal vs Germany (5pm, Munich)

Group E: Spain vs Poland (8pm, Seville)


Sunday, June 20

Group A: Italy vs Wales (5pm, Rome)

Group A: Switzerland vs Turkey (5pm, Baku)


Monday, June 21

Group C: North Macedonia vs Holland (5pm, Amsterdam)

Group C: Ukraine vs Austria (5pm, Bucharest)

Group B: Russia vs Denmark (8pm, Copenhagen)

Group B: Finland vs Belgium (8pm, St Petersburg)


Tuesday, June 22

Group D: Czech Republic vs England (8pm, London)

Group D: Croatia vs Scotland (8pm, Glasgow)


Wednesday, June 23

Group E: Slovakia vs Spain (5pm, Seville)

Group E: Sweden vs Poland (5pm, St Petersburg)

Group F: Germany vs Hungary (8pm, Munich)

Group F: Portugal v France (8pm, Budapest)



Saturday, June 26

1: 2A vs 2B (5pm, Amsterdam)

2: 1A vs 2C (8pm, London)


Sunday, June 27

3: 1C vs 3D/E/F (5pm, Budapest)

4: 1B vs 3A/D/E/F (8pm, Seville)


Monday, June 28

5: 2D vs 2E (5pm, Copenhagen)

6: 1F vs 3A/B/C (8pm, Bucharest)


Tuesday, June 29

7: 1D vs 2F (5pm, London)

8: 1E vs 3A/B/C/D (8pm, Glasgow)



Friday, July 2

QF1: Winner 6 vs Winner 5 (5pm, St Petersburg)

QF2: Winner 4 vs Winner 2 (8pm, Munich)


Saturday, July 3

QF3: Winner 3 vs Winner 1 (5pm, Baku)

QF4: Winner 8 vs Winner 7 (8pm, Rome)



Tuesday, July 6

SF1: Winner QF2 vs Winner QF1 (8pm, London)


Wednesday, July 7

SF2: Winner QF4 vs Winner QF3 (8pm, London)



Sunday, July 11

Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2 (8pm, London)

All kick-off times BST.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access