Repeat of 2020 decider to kick off race for O'Neill Cup in Tyrone

Dungannon's Paul Donaghy in action against Trillick's Lee Brennan. The Clarke's defeated Trillick on penalties in the 2020 Tyrone SFC final at the clubs while meet in the first match of this year's championship on Thursday, September 22 at Healy Park Picture: Seamus Loughran.
Francis Mooney

The LCC Group Tyrone SFC will burst into action with one of the stand-out ties of the first round between Trillick and Dungannon - but will conclude a week later than originally planned.

The clubs that contested the historic 2020 final are to get this year's series under way in a standalone fixture on Thursday, September 22.

They'll return to the scene of that sensational decider of two years ago, which Dungannon won in a penalty shoot-out, to do battle again under the Healy Park floodlights.

The Tyrone CCC has released the fixtures for the first round, as well as a revised schedule which sees the county final pushed back a week from its original date.

The decider will now not take place until October 30, and if it goes to a replay, the Red Hand champions will have just a week to prepare for their Ulster Club SFC opener against the Derry title winners.

Five consecutive days of non-stop action will see all eight first round ties played off in a series once again unfolding in its traditional straight knock-out format.

It's the sudden death element that has contributed to the magic of the Tyrone SFC, renowned as one of the most open and competitive in the country.

Any one of a dozen teams is considered capable of winning the O'Neill Cup, which has been claimed by nine different clubs since the title was last retained in 2005, when Carrickmore completed back-to-back successes.

Defending champions Dromore will begin the defence of their title on Friday September 23 when they take on Killyclogher on a double bill which also sees Greencastle face Donaghmore at O'Neills Healy Park.

The action continues with two more ties on the following day. Plunkett Park, Pomeroy will host the meeting of Ardboe and Omagh, and later at Galbally, Errigal Ciaran take on Moy.

On Sunday September 25, Edendork will stage a double bill, with Clonoe's clash with Intermediate champions Moortown followed by a repeat of last year's first round tie between Loughmacrory and Derrylaughan.

The first round concludes on Monday September 26, with last year's beaten finalists Coalisland facing Carrickmore for the second year in a row.

The quarter-finals are scheduled for the weekend of October 7/9, with the semi-finals pencilled in for October 15 and 16.

LCC Group Tyrone SFC first round

Thursday, September 22

(7.30pm, Omagh): Trillick v Dungannon

Friday, September 23

(6.45pm Omagh): Greencastle v Donaghmore

(8.15pm, Omagh): Dromore v Killyclogher

Saturday, September 24

(1.30pm, Pomeroy): Ardboe v Omagh

(4pm, Galbally): Moy v Errigal Ciaran

Sunday, September25

(1.30pm, Edendork): Moortown v Clonoe

(3.30pm, Edendork): Loughmacrory v Derrylaughan

Monday, September 26

(7.30pm, Omagh): Carrickmore v Coalisland