Maghery blitz Crossmaglen to capture Armagh SFC title

Maghery celebrate at the Athletic Grounds following thier Armagh SFC final win over Crossmaglen  
Pádraig Ó Meiscill

MAGHERY stunned Crossmaglen in the Athletic Grounds this afternoon to dethrone the reigning champions and capture only their second ever Armagh Senior Football Championship title.

A goal just before the break had kept Maghery in touch with Cross’ at the break, before majors from Aidan Forker and Oisín Lappin's definitively turned the tide in their favour in the third quarter.

Carryduff are into their first ever Down Senior Football Championship final following this afternoon’s dramatic extra-time semi-final victory over Ballyholland. They will face Kilcoo in the decider after a Jerome Johnston goal helped them over the line against Warrenpoint.

In Donegal, captain Ciarán Thompson came off the bench to help Naomh Conaill snatch a dramatic extra-time victory over St Eunan’s. They will meet Kilcar in the county final after they made it past Gaoth Dobhair in the other semi-final.

Two second-half goals were the crucial scores for Ederney as they made it past Teemore and into the Fermanagh SFC final, where they will meet Derrygonnelly who cruised past Kinawley in the other semi-final.

In Ballycastle, Dunloy retained their Antrim SHC title with a seven-point victory over Loughiel. Gregory O’Kane’s men never looked like losing their hard-earned crown from the first whistle. Choosing to face into a strong wind that should have been worth seven or eight points to Loughgiel, Dunloy ended the first half all square (1-7 to 0-10) and never loosened their vice-like grip on proceedings in the second-half.

A dominant second-half performance guided Slaughtneil to their eighth Derry senior hurling title in-a-row earlier today. Top scorer Cormac O’Doherty lifted the Father Collins Cup after a 12-point victory over Kevin Lynch’s.



Armagh SFC final: Maghery 4-9 Crossmaglen 0-19
Donegal SFC semi-finals: Kilcar 0-14 Gaoth Dobhair 1-6; Naomh Conaill 1-10 St Eunan’s, Letterkenny 0-12
Fermanagh SFC semi-finals: Ederney 2-16 Teemore 3-7; Derrygonnelly 2-7 Kinawley 1-2
Down SFC semi-finals: Carryduff 2-13 Ballyholland 1-15; Kilcoo 1-18 Cumann Pheadaír Naofa 2-6
Down SFC relegation play-offs: RGU, Downpatrick 0-12 Darragh Cross 0-6; Castlewellan 0-17 Glenn 2-11

Antrim SHC final: Dunloy 2-20 Loughiel 2-13
Derry SHC final: Slaughtneil 0-23 Kevin Lynch’s 0-11
Monaghan SHC final: Castleblayney 2-22 Truagh Gaels 0-8
Tyrone SHC final: Carrickmore 3-13 Dungannon 2-11
Armagh SHC semi-finals: Middletown Na Fianna 3-19 Derrynoose 2-12; Cúchulainn’s 2-20 Seán Treacy’s 2-6

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access