Video: Time Out - May 23: Sporting greats, Dates and a Quick Quiz Blitz to kick-start your day

The Irish News Archive and PA

Ulster Senior Football Championship first round: Antrim 1-13 Tyrone 2-14

LAST Sunday the new hand-pass ruling riled many observers.

This time, the old bugbear of what constitutes a fair tackle in Gaelic football was gnawing at Antrim boss Liam Bradley.

Tyrone may have controlled most of this match, but ‘the Baker' was adamant that their second goal, emphatically rifled in by Owen Mulligan before the half-hour mark, should have been ruled out for an earlier foul on Saffrons skipper Colin Brady by the goalscorer.

“Last week we were talking about referees for a different reason, I think we should be talking about the referee today for the main reason – the second goal,” insisted Bradley.

“That was a free to us and the game hinged on it at the tail end, there were only four points in it.”

When another reporter questioned his side's first-half display, the exasperated Antrim manager declared: “The second goal was crucial. People have got to realise that was a free to Antrim. Colin Brady was fouled.

“That whole game hinged on that.”

Antrim: J Finucane; C Brady, A Douglas, K O'Boyle; T Scullion (0-1), J Crozier, S Kelly; B Herron, A Gallagher; T O'Neill, K Niblock (1-1), J Loughrey; P Cunningham (0-5, 0-4 frees), M McCann (0-1), T McCann (0-1 free).

Subs: CJ McGourty (0-4) forSKelly (19), G O'Boyle forTO'Neill (41), K McGourty for B Herron (41),KBrady for T McCann (53).

Yellow cards: K Niblock (12), A Douglas (36), P Cunningham (39)

Tyrone: P McConnell; M Swift, Justin McMahon (0-1), D Carlin; D Harte, R McMenamin, P Jordan (0-1); K Hughes (1-1), C Cavanagh (0-2); B Dooher (0-1), S Cavanagh (0-3, 0-2 frees) Joe McMahon; M Penrose (0-2 frees), S O'Neill (0-3, 0-1 free), O Mulligan (1-0).

Subs: Sean O'Neill for R McMenamin (51), P Harte for B Dooher (51), C McCarron for D Harte (56), T McGuigan for K Hughes (66), B McGuigan for O Mulligan (70).

Yellow cards: C Cavanagh (16), J McMahon (41).

Referee: P McEnaney (Monaghan)

Attendance: 18,159


Gerry Armstrong (soccer) - former Tottenham player who won 63 caps for Northern Ireland, born 1954.

Marvin Hagler (boxing) - American world middleweight champion from 1980 to 1987, born 1954.

Graeme Hick (cricket) - former Worcestershire and England batsman, born 1966.

Rubens Barrichello (motor racing) - Brazilian former Formula One driver, born 1972.

Richard Hill (rugby union) - former England and Saracens forward, born 1973.

Darren Maddy (cricket) - former Warwickshire and England batsman, born 1974.

Ricardinho (soccer) - former Brazil player, born 1976.

Ross Wallace (soccer) - former Celtic, Sunderland and Sheffield Wednesday midfielder, now with St Mirren, born 1985.

Morgan Pressel (golf) - American who won the 2007 Kraft Nabisco Championship, born 1988.

Dan Evans (tennis) - Current British number one, born 1990.

Joe Gomez (soccer) - Liverpool and England defender, born 1997.


1. Which centre back has scored as many Premier League goals as they have conceded own goals with 10 of each?

2. At which ground is the All-Ireland GAA Senior Hurling final played?

3. Which League One club were previously known as Black Arabs FC?

4. In what sport may participants experience oxers, knockdowns or refusals?

5. How many clubs has Sam Allardyce managed in the Premier League?

6. Which is the longest of the British Classic horse races?

7. Which team - rather than a country - finished second in the medal table at the 1992 Winter Games and first at the 1992 Summer Games?

8. Which US major league sport has the most teams from Canada?

9. By what method did Floyd Mayweather Jr beat Conor McGregor?

10. And in which round? a) 8th b) 10th c) 12th

(See answers at bottom)


2001: England midfielder Owen Hargreaves was part of the Bayern Munich side which beat Valencia on penalties to win the Champions League final in Milan.

2002: Roy Keane left the Republic of Ireland's pre-World Cup training camp on the Pacific island of Saipan after a row with national team manager Mick McCarthy, who branded him "a disruptive influence".

2007: AC Milan won the Champions League, beating Liverpool 2-1 in the final in Athens.

2012: QPR midfielder Joey Barton was banned for 12 matches and fined £75,000 following his dismissal against Manchester City on the final day of the Premier League season.

2015: James Degale wins super-middleweight title. DeGale won the IBF super-middleweight title against Andre Dirrell in Boston.

After Carl Froch vacated the IBF super-middleweight title due to injury, challengers DeGale and Dirrell were paired together.

The bout took place at the Agganis Arena in Boston and DeGale put on the performance of his career, completely outboxing the American.

He floored Dirrell twice in the second round, but could not force a knockout.

However, DeGale had done enough to earn a comfortable unanimous points victory, with two judges scoring the fight 114-112 and the third 117-109.

2017: Sam Allardyce announced in a statement he had stepped down as Crystal Palace manager, adding "I have no ambitions to take another job".

2018: Arsenal announced Unai Emery as their new head coach on a three-year contract.

QUICK QUIZ answers: 1 Richard Dunne; 2 Croke Park, Dublin; 3 Bristol Rovers; 4. Showjumping; 5. Seven (Bolton, Newcastle, Blackburn, West Ham, Sunderland, Crystal Palace and Everton); 6. St Leger Stakes; 7. The Unified Team (from the former USSR); 8. National Hockey League; 9. TKO; 10. b.


Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access