Time Out - May 14: Sporting greats, Dates and a Quick Quiz Blitz to kick-start your day...

FAILTE TOWERS: Pictured at the launch of 'Failte restaurant' last night (left to right) are Antrim manager Liam Bradley, Celtic's Marc Crosas and Darren O'Dea, Antrim captain Paddy Cuningham and Celtic and Northern Ireland star Niall McGinn. The restaurant on the Falls Road in Belfast is owned by McGinn and soccer agent Gerry Carlile.
The Irish News Archive and PA

The Irish News - May 14 2010: No room for Kielt in Derry line-up

J AMES Kielt is a surprise omission from Damian Cassidy's selection for Sunday's Ulster SFC opener against Armagh at Celtic Park.

In all, the Derry team shows four changes from the side which claimed a morale-boosting win over Galway in their final League game in Pearse Stadium.

Raymond Wilkinson replaces Kielt in the forwards while Joe Diver also drops to the bench. Eoin and Paddy Bradley return from injury and Mark Lynch switches to centre-forward.

Both Charlie Kielt and Michael McGoldrick are ruled out through injury so Kevin McGuckin comes in at fullback with Michael Bateson replacing Charlie Kielt at right half-back.

Bateson and Declan Mullan will make their Championship debuts on Sunday.

Veteran Enda Muldoon, the only survivor from the 1998 Ulster Championship-winning side, returns to the squad and is listed among the substitutes.

As expected, Ronan Clarke is not named in Armagh's starting 15 for the clash at Celtic Park.

The Pearse Og clubman aggravated an achilles injury prior to the National League final and was forced to miss the Orchard county's 0-17 to 1-12 win over Down in Croke Park.

He is included among the substitutes, however.

Paddy O'Rourke also re-jigged his starting team and has made one change in personnel from the team which beat Down last month. Kieran Toner is named at full-back with Brendan Donaghy moving to number four.

BT D'Alton Cup final: St Patrick's, Cavan 3-9 Abbey CBS Newry 0-4

St Patrick's, Cavan will be celebrating a first ever BT D'Alton Cup title for a while after seeing off the challenge of Abbey CBS in the final in Pearse Og grounds Armagh yesterday afternoon.

After running up big scores in the lead up to the final, defences took over and there was little to separate the sides after 20 minutes, Cavan ahead by 0-2 to a single score from Ryan Treanor.

However, the Breffni boys conjured up a 21st minute goal for Ben Conaty and quickly added two Ryan Connolly points to open up a gap that the Abbey struggled to close.

Cavan led by 1-5 to 0-1 at the break, but Abbey hit back on the re-start with three points in succession.

This closed the gap, but Ryan Connolly struck a goal and this helped Cavan regain control.

Ronan O'Reilly added a third Cavan goal and substitute Donovan McCaffrey struck two points in the final 10 minutes to confirm an historic victory for St Patrick's.

St Patrick's Cavan: M Fegan; G Brady, J Rahill, D Lunney; C McManus,TGalligan, P Sexton; C McCabe,MMcKenna (0-1); R O'Reilly (1-2), R Connolly (1-4), P Smith; B Sheanon, B Conaty (1-0), D Gannon.

Sub: D McCaffrey (0-2) for B Sheanon.

Abbey CBS: A Campbell; J Catterson, F Quinn, T Looney;CMcKinney, S Gregory, L Byrne; S Dobbin (0-1), C McCoy; J Rock, R Treanor (0-3), R Campbell; N Rafferty, S Fitzpatrick, R McGrath.

Subs: C Burns for N Rafferty, G Fox for S Fitzpatrick, E Irwin for R McGrath.


1. From 2014 to 2016, Andy Murray was coached by which former Wimbledon women's champion?

2. What was the name of Sunderland FC's original home ground? A- Blue House Field, B- Black House Field, C- Red House Field

3. What colour medal did British diver Tom Daley win at the London 2012 Olympics?

4. The heptathlon is made up of how many individual events?

5. Who won the All-Ireland GAA Senior Football Championship in 2012?

6. Former Welsh winger Nigel Walker also represented his country in which athletics event?

7. What is the nickname of Northern Ireland's netball team?

8. Who were the winners of the 2012 FA Cup?

9. Which venue hosted the 2001 FA Cup final?

10. Which manager has won the most FA Cup titles?

(See quiz answers at bottom)


Nicola Fairbrother (judo) - Won world title at 56kg category in 1993 and Olympic silver medallist in 1992, born 1970.

Julian White (rugby union) - Former England prop, born 1973.

Lee McCulloch (soccer) - Former Wigan, Rangers and Scotland midfielder, born 1978.

Clinton Morrison (soccer) - Former Crystal Palace, Birmingham and Republic of Ireland striker, born 1979.

Hugo Southwell (rugby union) - Former Scotland and Wasps back, born 1980.

Nigel Reo-Coker (soccer) - Former West Ham and Aston Villa midfielder, born 1984.

Francois Steyn (rugby union) - South African World Cup winner, born 1987.

Bernardo (soccer) - Brighton defender, born 1995.


1754: Members of the Society of St Andrews Golfers played their first round over the St Andrews links. The society was the forerunner of the Royal & Ancient.

1977: Bobby Moore played his last competitive match for Second Division Fulham at Blackburn - the home side won 1-0. On the same day, Liverpool became the first club to win the First Division title 10 times when they drew 0-0 at home to West Ham.

1988: Lawrie Sanchez scored the winning goal as Wimbledon upset the odds to beat Liverpool 1-0 in the FA Cup final at Wembley.

2000: Wimbledon dropped out of the top flight after 14 years with a 2-0 defeat at Southampton as Bradford avoided relegation by beating Liverpool 1-0.

2005: The playing career of Rugby World Cup-winning captain Martin Johnson ended with a 39-14 defeat for Leicester against Wasps in the Premiership final.

2007: Stuart Pearce was sacked as Manchester City manager.

2008: Rangers lost the UEFA Cup final 2-0 to Zenit St Petersburg in Manchester.

2011: Manchester United drew 1-1 at Blackburn to clinch a record 19th league title, while Manchester City ended their 35-year wait for a major trophy by winning the FA Cup with a 1-0 victory over Stoke in the Wembley final.

2013: Wigan were relegated from the Premier League only days after winning the FA Cup at Wembley.

2016: Saracens won 21-9 against Racing 92 in the European Champions Cup final.

2016: Arsenal beat Chelsea 1-0 in the Women's FA Cup final at Wembley.

2018: Thomas Tuchel was appointed as the new manager of Paris St Germain.

QUICK QUIZ answers: 1. Amelie Mauresmo; 2. A- Blue House Field; 3. Bronze; 4. Seven; 5. Donegal, defeating Mayo 2-11 to 0-13; 6. Hurdles; 7. Warriors; 8. Chelsea, beating Liverpool 2-1; 9. Millenium Stadium in Cardiff, Wales; 10. Arsene Wenger.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access