December 19: Time Out: Sporting greats, dates and quick quiz to kick-start your day...

2009: Armagh full-back Brendan Donaghy will lead the Orchard county in the Dr McKenna Cup as Ciaran McKeever is recovering from a cruciate ligament injury
The Irish News Archive and PA

The Irish News, December 19 2009: Donaghy to lead Orchard County into new era

Brendan Donaghy’s appointment as Armagh captain has confirmed his status as a new leader in the Orchard county squad.

The Clonmore man gave one of the best exhibitions of any full-back in the country when he claimed the man-of-the-match award in this year’s Qualifier match against Monaghan.

Donaghy will deputise for regular skipper Ciaran McKeever, who is recovering for a ruptured cruciate ligament. McKeever is one of several injured players who have not been listed in the Barrett Sports Lighting Dr McKenna Cup squad. Martin O’Rourke, Stephen Kernan and Paul Courtney are also engaged in rehabilitation programmes.

The 30 names announced by new Orchard boss Paddy O’Rourke include a number of changes from this year’s squad. Aidan O’Rourke has retired while Enda McNulty and Kevin O’Rourke haven’t been named.

Tony McClelland is now working in America, while Stefan Forker and David McKenna are in the Jordanstown squad. Crossmaglen’s rising star Jamie Clarke has also been omitted because O’Rourke has agreed not to play any U21 players in the McKenna Cup.

The squad also includes a dozen new players: P Hearty, A Kernan, P Kernan, T Kernan, M McNamee (Crossmaglen), M Ferris (Carrickcruppin), P Magee (Sarsfield’s), S O’Neill, V Martin, P McEvoy, B Shannon (Dromintee), D Parkinson, P Duffy, (Pearse Og), M Mackin (Cullyhanna), R Austin (Clan na Gael), C Watters (Cullaville), J O’Neill, K Toner (Granemore), J Feeney (Madden), B McGone (Ballymacnab), R Henderson (Clann Eireann), B Mallon (Tir na nOg), G Swift, C Vernon (Armagh Harps), B Donaghy (Clonmore), J Lavery (Maghery), F Moriarty (Derrymacash), S McDonnell (Killeavy).

  • Alberto Tomba


    Italian slalom and giant slalom great who won three Olympic golds, born 1966.

  • Karen Pickering


    British freestyle specialist who won 35 major championship medals, born 1971.

  • Ricky Ponting


    former Australia captain and second on the all-time list of highest run-scorers in Test cricket, born 1974.

  • Gary Cahill


    Crystal Palace defender, born 1985.

  • Ryan Babel


    former Liverpool and Fulham forward, now with Galatasaray, born 1986.

  • Zuzana Hejnova


    Czech Republic 400m hurdler, world champion in 2013 and 2015, born 1986.

  • Karim Benzema


    Real Madrid and France striker, born 1987.

  • Alexis Sanchez


    Manchester United and Chile forward, currently on loan at Inter Milan, born 1988.

  • Who are the reigning champions of the Africa Cup of Nations?
  • Who is the only Irish rider to have won the Tour de France?
  • Who are the reigning GAA Allianz League Division 1 champions?
  • Who are the reigning champions in Irish Premiership soccer?
  • Which Dutchman has been world darts champion five times?
  • Who are the reigning champions in the top tier of Belgian football?
  • Who are the reigning Olympic champions in 15-a-side rugby?
+ Click Here to See Quiz Answers +
  • Algeria
  • Stephen Roche
  • Mayo (they beat Kerry 3-11 (three second-half goals) to 2-10 in the final);
  • Linfield
  • Raymond Van Barneveld
  • Genk
  • USA (they beat France in the final in 1924, the last time 15-a-side rugby featured at the Games
  • 1951

    The Football Association recognised white as the official colour for footballs because of the increased use of floodlights at matches.

  • 2003

    Manchester United and England defender Rio Ferdinand was banned for eight months and fined £50,000 for missing a drugs test.

  • 2005

    Formula One champion Fernando Alonso announced he would be joining McLaren in 2007.

  • 2007

    England rugby union head coach Brian Ashton was reappointed following an in-depth review into the state of the national team. He later lost the job in April 2008, with former captain Martin Johnson taking charge of the team.

  • 2009

    Mark Hughes was sacked as manager of Manchester City. He was replaced by Roberto Mancini.

  • 2010

    Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar became the first man to reach 50 Test centuries, achieving the feat against South Africa at Centurion.

  • 2010

    Grand National winner Tony McCoy was voted the BBC's Sports Personality of the Year.

  • 2012

    A new police investigation into the Hillsborough disaster was announced by the Home Secretary.

  • 2013

    Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere was banned for two games by the Football Association after admitting a misconduct charge over an offensive hand gesture made towards Manchester City fans.

  • 2015

    Chelsea appointed Guus Hiddink as their new manager until the end of the season, following the departure of Jose Mourinho.


Thursday, December 19


    PDC World Championship - Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Arena 1230 and 1900.


    Big Bash League, Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Thunder - BT Sport 1 0800.


    NBA, Milwaukee Bucks v Los Angeles Lakers - Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action 0100 (Fri).

Friday, December 20


    Sky Bet Championship, Middlesbrough v Stoke - Sky Sports Football 1900; Ladbrokes Premiership, Hibernian v Rangers - BT Sport 1 1915.


    Gallagher Premiership, Gloucester v Worcester - BT Sport 2 1900, Leinster v Ulster - eir Sport 1, Premier Sports 1 1900.


    PDC World Championship - Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Arena 1230 and Sky Sports Main Event 1900.


    Big Bash League, Hobart Hurricanes v Sydney Sixers - BT Sport 1 0330, Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars - BT Sport 1 0800.


    NBA, Philadelphia 76ers v Dallas Mavericks - Sky Sports Action 0100 (Sat).


    Daniel Jacobs v Julio Cesar Chavez Jr - Sky Sports Main Event 0200 (Sat).

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access