On This Day - April 15, 2012: Cork end Down's Division One final hopes


Pedro Delgado (cycling) - former Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana winner, born 1960.

Manoj Prabhakar (cricket) - former Test player for India, born 1963.

Ben Clarke (rugby union) - former England and Bath back row, born 1968.

Steve Williams (rowing) - double Olympic champion in the coxless fours, born 1976.

James Foster (cricket) - Essex's former England wicketkeeper, born 1980.

Willie Mason (rugby league) - former Catalans Dragons and Australia prop, born 1980.

Albert Riera (soccer) - former Liverpool, Watford and Spain winger, born 1982.

Tom Heaton (soccer) - Burnley and England goalkeeper, born 1986.

Steven Defour (soccer) - Burnley and Belgium midfielder, born 1988.

John Guidetti (soccer) - former Manchester City and Celtic striker, now at Alaves, born 1992.

Denis Shapovalov (tennis) - winner of the junior title at Wimbledon in 2016, now in the world top 20, born 1999.


1901: Snooker great Joe Davis was born. He went on to win 15 world titles, starting with the inaugural competition in 1927, up to his retirement from the championship in 1946. He also won the world professional billiards title four times. He died in 1978.

1964: George Best made his debut for Northern Ireland, helping them to a 3-2 win over Wales in Swansea. He went on to represent his country 37 times and scored nine goals, but never played in a major finals.

1985: Undisputed world middleweight champion Marvin Hagler destroyed Thomas Hearns in arguably the most explosive fight in the history of boxing, stopping the 'Motor City Cobra' in the third round in Las Vegas.

1986: Viv Richards hit a Test century off only 56 balls against England on his home ground of St John's, Antigua.

1989: The FA Cup semi-final between Liverpool and Nottingham Forest turned into the worst tragedy in British sporting history, with 96 fans losing their lives in the Hillsborough disaster.

2005: Former Scotland coach Ian McGeechan announced he was quitting as the Scottish Rugby Union's director of rugby to take up a similar post at Wasps.

2009: The England and Wales Cricket Board announced that former Zimbabwe captain Andy Flower had been appointed England team director.

2012: Down’s shot at a National League Division One final was easily stopped by Cork who won 2-17 to 1-12.

2014: Aston Villa suspended assistant manager Ian Culverhouse and head of football operations Gary Karsa "pending an internal investigation". Both men were later sacked.

2016: Nicola Adams was among eight British boxers who qualified for the Rio Olympics with their performances in Samsun, Turkey.

2017: Dublin overcame the early loss of Con O’Callaghan to a black card to ease past Donegal 1-13 to 0-9 in the All-Ireland U-21 semi-final.

2018: Manchester City were crowned Premier League champions as they took an unassailable lead in the title race following Manchester United's 1-0 defeat at home to West Brom.


Today (Monday, April 15)

SOCCER: Premier League, Watford v Arsenal - Sky Sports Main Event & Sky Sports Premier League 1900.

BASEBALL: MLB, Boston Red Sox v Baltimore Orioles - BT Sport/ESPN 1600, Philadelphia Phillies v New York Mets - BT Sport/ESPN 0000 (Tue), Los Angeles Dodgers v Cincinnati Reds - BT Sport/ESPN 0300 (Tue).

Tomorrow (Tuesday, April 16)

SOCCER: Champions League, Barcelona v Manchester United - BT Sport 2 1900, Juventus v Ajax - BT Sport 3 1930.

CRICKET: IPL, Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan Royals - BT Sport 1 1515.

BASKETBALL: NBA play-offs, Oklahoma City Thunder v Portland Trail Blazers - Sky Sports Main Event 0330 (Wed).

BASEBALL: MLB, New York Yankees v Boston Red Sox - BT Sport/ESPN 2330.

RACING: From Newmarket - ITV 4 1330.


1 Which former Italy and Brazil managers have each won three titles at Chinese Super League club Guangzhou Evergrande?

2 What two disciplines make up a biathlon?

3 In which European city has the men's marathon record been broken eight times and the women's three times?

4 Which former county manager has joined the Armagh Harps backroom team?

5 Who was the only player to start all of Arsenal's 38 games during their undefeated season in 2003-04?

Answers: 1 Marcello Lippi and Luiz Felipe Scolari; 2 Cross-country skiing and rifle shooting; 3 Berlin; 4 Mattie McGleenan; 5 Jens Lehmann.



Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access




Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: