Edendork and Brackaville the toast of Tyrone

Tyrone sharpshooter Darren McCurray goaled in Edendork's Intermediate final win over Urney at Healy Park

Tyrone Intermediate Football Championship/Junior Football Championship finals

EDENDORK won their first Tyrone IFC title in 30 years, finishing strongly to see off Urney at Healy Park yesterday with a 2-12 to 1-12 win.

Five points ahead with 10 minutes to play, they were pegged back by a resurgent Urney side that went level with a Chris Bogle goal. But the St Malachy’s finished the game off with quality scores from Christopher McCurry, Conn Kilpatrick and Conor Mallon.

Darren McCurry fired in a brilliant first half goal, but it was Urney who led 0-7 to 0-3 at the break, with scores from Johnny Lafferty, Ronan Lafferty and Plunkett Langan.

Skipper Harry Og Conlan grabbed a second goal for the St Malachy’s, and points from Niall Morgan, with a 60 metre free, Brian Og O’Rourke and McCurry had them five clear. But the St Columba’s battled back heroically to go level through Ronan Lafferty.

Edendork managed to turn the tide, and break for those late scores that denied an Urney side that has now lost three IFC finals in the past six years.

Brackaville held on in a tight finish to win their fourth Tyrone JFC title at Healy Park yesterday with a 0-9 to 0-8 reverse of Aghaloo.

Teenager Sean Day turned in a superb performance to inspire the Roes to a one point win, fielding and running at the Aghaloo defence with confidence.

They led by 0-5 to 0-3 at half-time, with Ciaran Gervin, Dara McGuinness, Martin Gervin and Che O’Donnell on target, and Gary O’Gorman and Stephen Donnelly scoring for Aghaloo.

Tiarnan Donnelly edged the O’Neills ahead, but Brackaville came through strongly in the closing stages, with late scores from Joe Rafferty and Paul O’Neill.


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope:  

301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.