Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.

Apache/2.4.25 (Debian) Server at Port 80
Slaughtneil and Coleraine set up Derry final meeting - The Irish News
PAGE NOT FOUND ERROR 404 - The Irish News


What can you do?


  • You can use the search box at the top right side of the page to find the information you’ve been looking for.
  • You can take a look at our Popular Posts section on the menu bar of this page. There you might find the information you’d like to get, and more useful articles you might be interested in as well.
  • You can also return home if you’re feeling lost.
  • You can find out more about the Irish News in the article About Us.
  • And if you think this is our mistake, you can also contact us. We’ll be thankful.

Slaughtneil and Coleraine set up Derry final meeting

Slaughtneil's Francis McEldowney is put under pressure by Bellaghy's Conan Brown during Sunday's Derry SFC semi-final at Owenbeg
Picture: Margaret McLaughlin
Séamus Mullan

NEXT Sunday’s M&L Contracts Derry Senior Football Championship final in Celtic Park will be between reigning champions Slaughtneil and 2010 champions Coleraine after Sunday’s semi-finals.

Coleraine 0-15 Ballinderry 1-8

COLERAINE had four points to spare in their last four win over Ballinderry.

The crucial score of the first half came in the 7th minute when Enda Muldoon crossed the ball from the left to the far post where Conor Nevin palmed the back across the keeper and it came back off the base of the post and rolled into the net for 1-0 to 0-2, Coleraine having opened with the points from Barry McGoldrick and Gavan McWilliams.

The rest of the half was nip and tuck with Colm McGoldrick and Ryan Bell each scoring twice, the latter’s second point a massive effort from the left side line to give Ballinderry a 1-5 to 0-5 half time lead.  

However, the second half saw the Bannsidesers produce their best 30 minutes of the year with an outstanding attacking performance that proved simply too much for the Shamrocks who had no answer to the sweeping moves that produced a plethora of scores.

Stephen Coyles started the onslaught inside a minute from a Declan Mullan pass, Colm McGoldrick pointing a free to leave one between the sides in the 35th minute. Coyles was on target again to level the scores but Ballinderry rallied momentarily with points from Kevin McGuckin and Ryan Bell by the 34th minute but thereafter Owen Roes upped the tempo and scored at will in the final quarter.

Two points from Gavan McWilliams levelled the scores, Coyles putting Coleraine in front in the 46th minute.

Substitute Ruairi Mooney hit two points in quick succession, Ciaran McGoldrick and Colm McGoldrick adding points either side of a Gilligan effort to complete a commanding victory.

Slaughtneil 2-16 Bellaghy 1-6

THE sheer gulf in class between these two teams  exemplified by the 13 points winning margin, the 4,420 treated to a wonderful exhibition of score taking by the reigning champions, especially in the first half after Slaughtneil had turned round 2-6 to 0-3 ahead at half time.

In the 4th minute player of the match Cormac O’Doherty took a pass from Paul Bradley and bulged the net from close range.

Peter Cassidy (2) and Fergal Doherty levelled the score by the 6th minute but then O’Doherty restored the lead with a point and then created the opening for Christopher Bradley to drill home the second goal.  Points from Sé McGuigan (3) and Cormac O’Doherty took the Emmet’s to a 2-6 to 0-3 lead, the game well and truly over as a contest.

To their credit the Tones refused to lie down before the onslaught and battled manfully despite the superior odds stacked against them. Eoghan Brown pointed a free but Paul Bradley replied in equal measure from a placed ball, Christopher Bradley taking a low pass from O’Doherty to add another minor, Ruairi McElwee getting Bellaghy’s fifth point before the short whistle.

On the turnaround Ronan Bradley picked off a neat point, Shane McGuigan (2) and full back Brendan Rogers on target before Brown pointed a 50th minute Bellaghy free.

Shane McGuigan finished the Slaughtneil scoring with a brace of points, Diarmuid Larkin converting a 56th minute penalty, Slaughtneil convincing winners. 

In the final  minute, Slaughtneil’s Seán Cassidy was sent off on a blazck card.  


Coleraine scorers: Colm McGoldrick (0-4, 0-2 frees), S Coyles (0-3), G McWilliams (0-3), Ciarán McGoldrick (0-2), R Mooney (0-2), B McGoldrick (0-1).
Ballinderry scorers: C Nevin (1-0), R Bell (0-3, 0-1 ‘45’),  J Bateson (0-1), K McGuckin (0-1), C Gilligan (0-1), C Devlin (0-1), R Wilkinson (0-1). 

Slaughtneil scorers: C O’Doherty (1-2), C Bradley (1-2), Sé McGuigan (0-3), Shane McGuigan (0-3, 0-1 free), P Bradley (0-2, 0-1 free), R Bradley (0-2), B Rogers (0-1), P Cassidy (0-1).    
Bellaghy scorers: D Larkin (1-0 pen), P Cassidy (0-2), E Brown (0-2 frees), Ruairí McElwee (0-1).     


Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope:  

Irish News
301 Moved Permanently

Moved Permanently

The document has moved here.

Apache/2.4.25 (Debian) Server at Port 80