Political news

Constituency Profile: Barry McElduff wins West Tyrone

Brendan Hughes

SINN Féin's Barry McElduff has retained for the party the Westminster seat of West Tyrone with a convincing victory.

The assembly member polled 22,060 votes – a surge on the party's performance of 16,807 in the 2015 Westminster election.

Mr McElduff succeeds his party colleague Pat Doherty, who had been MP for the constituency since 2001.

Amid the roars of supporters, the West Tyrone MLA punched the air as his triumph was announced at the count at Omagh leisure centre.

Speaking to reporters after his win was confirmed, he said: "I think we have a message in West Tyrone that absolutely resonates with the people of West Tyrone.

"This is a strong constituency. There is an absolute appetite here to remain in the European Union. We want special status within the island of Ireland and within the European Union."

For a full list of results click here.

The DUP's Tom Buchanan polled 11,718 votes, the SDLP's Daniel McCrossan 5,635 and the UUP's Alicia Clarke 2,253.

Alliance's Stephen Donnelly received 1,000 votes, while the Green Party's Ciaran McClean polled 427 and Cista's Barry Brown 393.

Turnout for the constituency was 68.23 per cent – a slight dip on the 69.89 per cent in March's assembly election but an increase on the 61.10 per cent in 2015.

Constituency Quick Links

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access