Northern Ireland news

Remaining countries removed from Covid red list for travel

The remaining seven countries on the UK's red list for travel have been removed. Picture by Hugh Russell.

THE remaining countries on the UK's red list for Covid have now been removed, it was confirmed last night.

Seven countries had remained on the red list, meaning even travellers arriving from them fully vaccinated were required to quarantine in an approved hotel for 10 days.

They were Ecuador, Peru, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Panama, Haiti and Venezuela.

However, the red list system will remain in place for countries to be added if Covid cases rise.

The UK transport secretary Grant Shapps said: "This is another step in the right direction for international travel with more good news today for passengers, businesses and the travel sector. We're continuing to make great progress as we recover from the pandemic and today is another example of how far we have come."

Meanwhile, Stormont's Department of Health has announced that fully vaccinated passengers arriving into the north from non-red list countries will be able to take a post-arrival lateral flow test.

A department spokesperson said eligible passengers will have thel flow or PCR test on or before day two of their arrival.

"Any individuals with a positive lateral flow test will be required to book a free confirmatory PCR test and isolate for 10 days," they said.

"If the subsequent mandatory confirmatory PCR is negative, then the isolation period can end. Those that have already bought a PCR test do not need to buy another test. Lateral flow tests for international travel must be purchased from a private provider as NHS Test and Trace tests cannot be used for international travel."

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

Northern Ireland news