Northern Ireland news

No change for DUP deputy leader Paula Bradley in party's major reshuffle

Paula Bradley will remain chair of the assembly's Communities Committee. Picture by Liam McBurney/PA Wire

NEW DUP deputy leader Paula Bradley is to remain chair of the assembly's communities scrutiny committee following Edwin Poots' major shake-up of the party's Stormont roles.

While there were widespread changes elsewhere, the comparatively socially liberal North Belfast MLA wasn't among those promoted or demoted in the new leader's reshuffle, which saw a number of Sir Jeffrey Donaldson's supporters overlooked for prominent roles.

North Antrim MLA Mervyn Storey, who declined Mr Poots' offer to become first minister, will replace Paul Givan as chair of the Justice Committee, while Jonathan Buckley will chair the Infrastructure Committee, replacing new Education Minister Michelle McIlveen.

There is no change for William Humphrey and Trevor Clarke, who will continue in their respective roles as chair of Public Accounts Committee and sitting on the Policing Board.

The new team includes Christoper Stalford as vice-chair of the Standards and Privileges Committee, Tom Buchanan as vice chair of Procedures, Keith Buchanan as vice chair of the Finance Committee and Gordon Lyons as vice chair of the Health Committee.

Mr Poots also unveiled David Hilditch as vice chair of the Infrastructure Committee and William Irwin as vice chair of the Audit Committee. Pam Cameron will become chair of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

Northern Ireland news