Northern Ireland

Twelfth of July parade routes, traffic advice and public transport info

The PSNI and Translink have issued advice to travellers ahead of this weekend

Orange Order members marching towards Belfast city centre. Picture: Cliff Donaldson
Orange Order members marching towards Belfast city centre. Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Towns across the north are set for a weekend of travel disruption as thousands of marchers will take to the streets for Twelfth of July parades.

Bands and marchers will march at 18 locations across all six counties to mark the 334th anniversary of the Battle of the Boyne.

The locations include Belfast, Killylea, Ballymena, Carrickfergus, Cloughmills, Ahoghill, Broughshane, Gilford, Newtownards, Ballynahinch, Annalong, Irvinestown, Londonderry, Moneymore, Benburb, Newtownstewart, Ballygawley and Derriaghy.

Public Transport

Translink has advised passengers travelling this weekend to check their journey in advance as timetable changes have been implemented for the Twelfth.

Due to road closures and traffic restrictions Metro, Glider, Ulsterbus and Goldliner services will be running weekend or holiday services.

This also means bus substitutions for train passengers between Lanyon Place and Europa Buscentre (Great Northern Mall) will not operate on Friday, July 12.

Traffic Disruption

Police have issued advice to the public over traffic disruption resulting from Friday’s parades.

Police are advising motorists that some “traffic disruption” is to be expected due to a number of parades planned throughout the day.

Officers will be on the ground to accommodate the flow of traffic in all locations on the day and to avoid potential delays.

Times and locations of parades

Belfast’s main parade begins its outward journey at 10am from Carlisle Circus, moving along Clifton Street, Donegall Street, Royal Avenue and Donegall Place to the City Hall, where a wreath-laying ceremony will take place at the Cenotaph.

The parade will then make its way towards the Lisburn Road, then along Malone Avenue and the Malone Road to Barnett’s Demesne.

The return parade will depart Barnett’s Demesne at 3.30pm, going back along the same route and finishing at Carlisle Circus.

The city will also see smaller feeder parades, including from Sandy Row, where one will start at 10.45am and move through Hope Street, Bruce Street, Great Victoria Street and College Square East before joining the main parade at Wellington Place.

In east Belfast, a parade will start at 8.15am at Templemore Avenue, before moving along Newtownards Road, Bridge End, Queen Elizabeth Bridge, Ann Street, Victoria Street, High Street, Bridge Street, North Street, Peters Hill, Shankill Road, North Boundary Street and Denmark Street, on to Carlisle Circus to lead the main parade.

In the Shankill area, a parade begins at 9.30am at West Belfast Orange Hall, moving through Peters Hill and North Street on to Royal Avenue, where it will join the main parade.

In south Belfast, a parade starts at 9.30am at Ballynafeigh Orange Hall, moving along Ormeau Road, Stranmillis Embankment, Holylands, Botanic Avenue, Donegall Pass, Ormeau Road/Avenue, Linenhall Street, Donegall Square South, Donegall Square East and Donegall Square North towards Belfast City Hall, where it will join the main parade.

Meanwhile, ahead of main parades in Derry and Newtownstewart on Friday, feeder parades will take place in areas including Plumbridge, Newbuildings, Claudy, Castlederg, Sion Mills, Strabane, Artigarvan, and the Waterside and Culmore areas of Derry.

In Newtownstewart, bands will assemble for feeder parades at 10.15am and leave from Methodist Lane, Old Douglas Road and Strabane Road. Participants will make their way to the demonstration field on Castle Brae for 2.30pm, along Baronscourt Road, Strabane Road and Main Street.

The return parade route is from Castle Brae at 3.30pm, along Moyle Road to Baronscourt Road for 5.30pm.

Derry’s main parade starts at 11.30am, with bands leaving from various assembly points including Glendermott Road, Carlin Terrace, Bond Street, Artillery Street and Pump Street.

The route is along Glendermott Road, Clooney Terrace, Spencer Road, Craigavon Bridge, Carlisle Road, Ferryquay Street, The Diamond, Bishop Street, London Street, Hawkin Street, Kennedy Place, Kennedy Street, Wapping Lane, Craigavon Bridge, Spencer Road, Clooney Terrace, Glendermott Road, May Street, and Limavady Road to the field at Wilton Park for 2pm.

The return parade will leave from Wilton Park at 3.45pm along Limavady Road, May Street and Bond Street towards Glendermott Road, Dungiven Road and Rossdowney Park.