General Election

Northern Ireland's winners and losers in the 2017 General election

Alasdair McDonnell lost his seat in South Belfast. Picture by Hugh Russell 
Digital staff

DUP 10 seats, Sinn Féin 7 and independent unionist Sylvia Hermon 1 seat.

Turnout in the north was 65.6% compared to 58.45% in 2015. That was compared to 69% across the UK.

Fermanagh and South Tyrone boasted the biggest turnout in Northern Ireland with 76.06% voting. 

  • Paul Girvan (DUP) takes South Antrim seat from UUP's Danny Kinahan 
  • Emma Little-Pengelly (DUP) takes South Belfast seat from SDLP's Alasdair McDonnell
  • Chris Hazzard (SF) takes South Down seat from SDLP's Margaret Ritchie
  • Elisha McCallion (SF) takes Foyle seat from SDLP's Mark Durkan
  • Jeffrey Donaldson (DUP) holds Lagan Valley seat
  • Jim Shannon (DUP) holds Strangford seat
  • Lady Sylvia Hermon (Ind) holds North Down seat
  • Gregory Campbell (DUP) holds East Derry seat
  • Paul Maskey (SF) holds West Belfast seat
  • Ian Paisley (DUP) holds North Antrim seat
  • Sammy Wilson (DUP) holds East Antrim seat
  • Gavin Robinson (DUP) holds East Belfast seat
  • Nigel Dodds (DUP) holds North Belfast seat
  • Francie Molloy (SF) holds Mid Ulster seat
  • David Simpson (DUP) holds Upper Bann seat
  • Mickey Brady (SF) holds Newry & Armagh seat
  • Barry McElduff (SF) is elected in West Tyrone
  • Michelle Gildernew (SF) takes Fermanagh & South Tyrone seat from UUP's Tom Elliott
West Tyrone East Derry Foyle Mid Ulster North Antrim Fermanagh & South Tyrone Upper Bann Newry and Armagh East Antrim South Antrim Strangford Lagan Valley South Down Belfast North Down

Map Legend

  • Yellow Alliance
  • Dark Blue DUP
  • Red SDLP
  • Green Sinn Féin
  • Pale Blue UUP
  • Grey Other
  • Grey Not announced

How the 2017 results compare to 2015:

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access



General Election