Hurling & Camogie

St Patrick’s, Dungiven produce five-star performance to claim Bro Mallon Cup

The Derry side hit four of their goals in the first half against St Paul’s, Bessbrook

St Patrick's, Dungiven
The St Patrick's, Dungiven team that won the Bro Mallon Cup

Danske Bank Bro Mallon Cup final (hurling)

St Patrick’s, Dungiven 5-9 St Paul’s, Bessbrook 2-7

THIS Danske Bank Bro Mallon Cup hurling final was decided by two goals midway through the first half that came from Bessbrook turnovers on the St Patrick’s, Dungiven 20m line.

The Armagh boys looked certain to score to reduce a 1-4 to 0-2 lead at the end of the first quarter that Dungiven had accumulated mainly through a goal from Jamie McWilliams in the ninth minute.

However, St Patrick’s turned over possession and broke quickly for the impressive Calum McLaughlin to hit the net at the other end in the 16th minute.

In an almost replica move three minutes later, corner-forward Flynn Forester fired home his side’s third goal.

McLaughlin then scored a fourth goal for the north Derry school just before the break and they were very much in command at the change of ends with a lead of 4-7 to 0-3.

Bessbrook came out for the second half with all guns blazing and scored a goal and three points in the first five minutes, the goal coming from Caolán Daly.

The teams then exchanged points before Flynn Forester got another Dungiven goal from a quick break.

Although Eoin Mallon responded with a Bessbrook goal and Hayden O’Callaghan and Oisín O’Hagan clipped over points, Dungiven were far enough ahead to see the game out.

St Patrick’s C McLaughlin 2-5, F Flynn 2-0, J McWilliams 1-0, J óg O’Kane, B Douglas, C McCloskey and E Deighan 0-1 each

St Paul’s E Mallon 1-2, C Daly 1-0, O O’Hagan 0-3, H O’Callaghan and J Bradley 0-2 each.