Business news

Seven new appointees to board of Invest NI

Seven new members have been appointed to the board of Invest NI.

THE names of seven appointees to the board of Invest NI have been confirmed by economy minister Gordon Lyons.

Dominic Darby, Melanie Dawson, Dawn McLaughlin, Ciaran Mulgrew, Patrick O’Gorman, Julie-Ann O’Hare and Scott Ritchie will sit on the board over the next three years.

The outgoing members, who stood down on May 31, include Deborah Lange, Judith Totten, Mark Nodder, Mark Sweeney and Padraig Canavan.

The board, which is made up of members of the north’s business community and education sector, is responsible for ensuring high standards of corporate governance, efficiency and propriety within Invest NI, as well as scrutinising the organisation’s use of public funds.

Board members currently receive £12,768 per annum.

Invest NI is still searching for a new chief executive following the resignation of Kevin Holland at the end of 2021. Mel Chittock is currently serving as the interim chief.

Meanwhile, an independent review into the agency, announced in January 2022, is due to be published in September.

Commenting on the appointments, Gordon Lyons said: “Invest NI plays a crucial role in helping to transform Northern Ireland into a globally competitive economy working for everyone and I welcome these new appointments to the board.

“The wealth of knowledge, skills and experience that I know they will bring will be invaluable as Invest NI continues to work to attract foreign investment and support our local businesses to create jobs, innovate and grow their exports through my department’s vision to deliver a decade of innovation through the 10X Economy.

“I would like to wish them every success in their work supporting the Invest NI chair and chief executive.”

Business news