Top directors on short-list for IoD regional awards

Announcing the short list for the Northern Ireland Director of the Year Awards are IoD regional chairman Gordon Milligan and Orla McGerr, head of corporate trading at awards headline sponsor AIB

MORE than 40 directors, drawn from multinational companies to modest SMEs, have made the short list in the

10th Institute of Directors (IoD) Northern Ireland Director of the Year Awards, which celebrate excellence across the public, third, and private sectors.

The winners will be unveiled at a scaled down and socially-distanced ceremony in Belfast's Merchant Hotel on Friday September 11.

IoD regional chair Gordon Milligan said: “The last number of months have been extraordinary as we've all adapted to new ways of doing business.

“In many respects this has brought out the best in the business community as some firms changed their focus to help the national effort to beat the virus, and many others pulled together to support each other financially and in other ways.

“It again proved the tremendous calibre of our business leaders, who will be showcased in our Director of the Year Awards in September.”

Adrian Moynihan, head of AIB NI, added: “The last few months have delivered a serious test of leadership in all walks of life, and as we emerge from lockdown and begin to focus on rebuilding the economy, strong leadership across the business sector will be crucial to our success.

“This year's short list is hugely impressive and highlights a clear commitment to strong and innovative leadership that is undoubtedly contributing to the success of their respective organisations.”

On this year's are:

:: Non-executive director of the year (sponsored by Deloitte) - Diana Fitzsimons, Karen Furlong, Alex Lee, Paul Rothwell

:: Innovation director (sponsored by KPMG) - Christine Boyle (Senergy Innovations), Daniel Crawford (Axial3D), Martin McKay (Texthelp), Mark Regan (Kingsbridge Private Hospital), Dave Vincent (Tourism NI)

:: Young director (sponsored by Carson McDowell) - Noeleen Breen (Sixteen South), Gareth Irvine (Copeland Distillery), Paul Lawther (Onecom), Cara Macklin (Cara Macklin Coach), Glenn Speer (Fane Valley).

:: Public sector director (sponsored by Capita Managed IT Solutions) - Ronnie Armour (NI Prison Service), Anne Donaghy (Mid & East Antrim Borough Council), John French (NI Consumer Council), Prof Nola Hewitt-Dundas (QUB).

:: Third sector director (sponsored by Capita Managed IT Solutions) - Lynn Carvill (Women'sTec), Alan Crilly (Triangle Housing), Mark Dougan (The Prince's Trust), Harry McDaid (UCIT).

:: Family business director (sponsored by BDO Northern Ireland) - Gavin Annon (Mount Charles Group), David Ausdahl (Lowden Guitars), Eugene Clarke (Clarke Facades), David Henry (Henry Brothers), Eddie McKeever (McKeever Hotel Group).

:: International director (sponsored by Invest NI) - Terry Cross (Hinch Distillery), Kieran Kennedy (O'Neills), Brian Reid (Deli Lites), Alana Rodgers (Ulster Weavers).

:: SME director (sponsored by Ulster University Business School) - Noeleen Breen (Sixteen South), Eamonn Bunting (Outsource Solutions), Gareth Hagan (OCO Global), Sinead Higgins (Decision Time), Peter Thomas (DLRT)

:: Inclusivity director (sponsored by ABL Group) - John Healy (AllState NI), Terry Moore (Outsource Solutions), Ciaran Moynagh (Phoenix Law).

:: Large business director (sponsored by Amplifi Solutions) - Colin Johnston (Galgorm Group), Trevor Lockhart (Fane Valley), Michael McCormack (Musgrave Group)

Also to be awarded is the Chairman's Award for Excellence and the inaugural Philanthropist of the Year award.

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access