Other Sports

Queen of the road Kelly Mallon wins record-breaking eighth title

Kelly Mallon won a record-breaking eight All-Ireland Ladies' road bowls title
Andy Watters

KELLY Mallon won a record-breaking eighth All-Ireland title with victory in last weekend’s final against Cork’s Carmel Ryan.

Armagh ladies’ football star Mallon grabbed the lead with her first shot and didn’t give it up despite a sustained effort from Ryan along the Tullysarran course – this year was the first year the Armagh had hosted the All-Ireland finals.

Meanwhile, Conor McGuigan beat Eamon Bowen to become the new men’s Intermediate All-Ireland champion

In the Boys’ U18 All-Ireland final, Cork’s Colm McLoughlin saw off a gallant challenge from Ronan Toal (Armagh) while Madden’s Geraldine Kiernan reigned supreme in the Ladies’ U18 final when she took on Cork’s Hannagh Sexton

Eglish Native Shaun Donnelly lost out to John O’Rourke in the Mens’ Junior A final.


Anne Marie Smyth Cup: Entry Fee £4, payable before you throw your first score.

Tuesday, August 7

Chapel, 6.45pm: Leanne Mackle v Rosheen Mackle (Mkrs: Vera and Anna), Allen’s, 7.15pm: Danielle Grimley v Alice Mackle, Chapel, 7.45pm: Rebecca Fields v Elaine McGrady, Allen’s, 8.15pm: Karen Tierney v Karen Grimley

Friday 10th August:

Chapel, 6.45: Siobhan Mackle v Alisha Rooney (Mkrs: Elaine and Vera)

Allen’s, 7.15pm: Alice Mackle v Karen Grimley

Sunday, August 12

Chapel, 11am: Conor O’Neill and Danny Trainor v Stevie O’Neill and Paddy O’Neill v Padraig Mallon and Marty Mullan (Markers: Brian Conlon and Stevie McGurk); Knipe’s, 11.45pm: Frank Donnelly and Brian Conlon v Gavin Rooney and John McKenna v Cormac Conlon and Stevie McGurk

Tuesday, August 14

Chapel, 6.45pm: Siobhan Mackle v Rosheen Mackle (Mkrs: Anna and Elaine); Allen’s, 7.15pm: Alice Mackle v Laura Kelly; Chapel, 7.45pm: Rebecca Fields v Alisha Rooney; Allen’s, 8.15pm: Karen Tierney v Danielle Grimley


Friday, August 10

Currans 7pm: Challenge Scores

Sunday, August 12

Currans 10.30am: Paul Dobbin Grade One semi-final: Odhran Rafferty v Rhys Daly (+1 shot); McGrails 11.15am Barney Lavery Cup: Conor Powell and Ross Gribben v Oisin Campbell and Gerald Conlon

Currans 12pm: Tony Daly and Neil McLoughlin v Adrian Daly and Michael Kelly


Sunday, August 12

11am: Plus 3 tournament Ray Conlon v Terry Gollogly; 12pm Plus 2 tournament Barry Murray v Micheal Savage

Monday, August 13

7pm, Plus4 tournament: Brendan Davidson v Jim McDonald; Plus2 tournament Brian Caherty (junior) v John Cooney

Bol Chumann Na Meirleach

Tuesday, August 7

7pm G2 Kieran Smyth v Kevin Cullen v Barry Corr; 7.30pm G3A Jake Cullen v Patrick Carr

Thursday, August 9

7pm Nico Kelly v Gerald McCluskey; 7.30pm Jackie Connolly Cup: Joe Shortt & Malachy Quigley v Jake Cullen & Kevin Cullen

Saturday, August 11

1pm G3A Karl Ó Conghaile v Michael Hughes; 1.30pm Felons G4 Final Eamon Nugent v Roberto

Sunday, August 12

Felons overall final, G1 Winner: Ruaidhri O’Reilly v G2 Winner Nico Kelly +1 v G3A winner Karl Ó Conghaile v G3B winner Eamon Nugent or Roberto. Bridge to bridge


Sunday, August 12

Hughes 11:30am: Barry O’Reilly v Colin Mallon

Low line 12:30: John Rafferty Overall Cup final: Paul O’Reilly v Steven O’Reilly v John Grimley v Danny Kiernan v Cathal McGuire.


11.15am David Devlin vs Patrick Mackle; 11.45am Marty Hannaway vs Marty Hughes; 12.15pm Thomas Mackle vs James Oliver; 1pm Eddie Connolly v Jane O’Neill

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

Other Sports
503 Service Unavailable

Service Unavailable

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: