Other Sports

This weekend's Road Bowls fixtures

Andy Watters

This is the time of year when all clubs come together with their championship entries.

Draws are made and then it's down to action and fortunately there is no shortage of clubs willing to accommodate the needs of the sport.

Tullysaran will be the hosts for the All-Ireland finals this year and next and thanks to sponsor Philip White Tyres as the championships are about to start. The Association's AGM will be held on January 23 at 8.30pm in the Charlemont Hotel and all clubs should be present

Championship draws

Novice 1: Conor Daly v Hugh McCoy, Saran Daly v first score, Martin Malone v Damian McVeigh, Niall Smith v winner second score, Paddy O'Neill (Armagh) v Paul Grimley (Moy Road), Finton Daly v Christopher Fields, Ronan McClelland v Colin Mallon, Stephen O'Neill v Paul McVeigh, Conor O'Neill v Padraigh Mallon, Philly McKeever v Austin McKeown

Novice 2 (Newtown Road): Chris Gribben v John Grimley, Oliver Kearney v Frank Donnelly, Mickey Mallon v Kevin Cullan, Conor Powell v Barry O'Reilly, Stevie Grey v Mickey Hannaway, Mark Gallagher v Paul Doran, Mark O Rourke v Paul Grimley jnr

Novice 2 (Madden Road): Marty Hannaway v Hugh McSorley, Padraig Gribben v Graham Sexton, Ryan Quigley v Barry Duffy, Conor Grimley v Barry Mallon, Danny Carragher v Oisin Campbell, Oliver O'Neill v Fergal Davidson

Novice 2 (Rock Road): Patrick Conlon v Enda Mallon, Ciaran Mullan v Patrick Wilson, Dermot Grimley v Martin Hughes, Barry Conlon v Paul Hughes, Adrian Rafferty v Caoimhin McGleenan, Thomas Digby v Rhys Daly

Novice 2 (Keady Tassagh Road): Martin Mullan v Joe McVeigh, Teddy Conway v Franko Oliver, Enda O'Leary v Damian Daly, Niall McKenna v Pete Carr senior, Darren Duffy v Enda Smith, James Cullan v Martin McGaughey

Junior C (Tieve Tara Road): Conor McKeever v Eoin Hughes, Patrick Mackle v Mark McParland, Ryan Fay v Cormac Garvey, Shane Rocks v Chris McCann, Brian Kinchen v Brian Kiernan, Ruairi Hughes v Davy Clarke, Joe Short v Paul Murphy, Cormac Gribben v Colly Doran


Sunday, January 21

11am Moy Point: Ryan Fay v Conor McKeever v Paul McVeigh, 11.40am McKenna's Lane: Fintan Daly v Damien McVeigh v Mark Gallagher; 1.30pm Doubles scores arranged on the road.

Keady Tassagh

Sunday, January 21

11am: Philly McKeever v Philip Corrigan; 12pm: Kieran Gribben v W McClelland; 1pm: Thomas Mackle v Pete Carr jnr +1 shot, 2pm: Gerard Rafferty v T McGale

Tieve Tara

Sunday, January 21

Junior C Championships: 11am Eoin Hughes v Conor McKeever, 12pm: Ruairi Hughes v Davy Clarke, 1.45pm Shane Rocks v Chris McCann, 2.45pm Cormac Gribben v Collie Doran


Sunday, January 21

Portmor Cup: Currans (10.30am): Mark Toal v Ethan Rafferty, McGrails 11.15am: PD Donnelly v Paul Mackle; Currans (12pm) Paddy Toal v Gabriel McIlvanna, McGrails (12.30pm): Conall Gribben v Patrick Mackle


Sunday, January 21

Chapel, 11am: Conor McGuigan v Michael O'Neill v James Oliver (Markers: John McKenna and Frank); Knipe's, 11.45am: Danny Trainor and Marty Mullan v Frank Donnelly and Patrick Conlon v Paddy O'Neill and John McKenna

Bol Chumann Na Meirleach

Saturday, January 20

Felons Fixtures: 1pm Grade 1 Shane Feighan v Odhran Rafferty, (1.30pm, Grade 3B) Bilko Quigley v Maurice Cullen

Sunday, January 21

(11am) Grade 2 Nico Kelly v John Grimley, (11.30am) Grade 3A Stephen Doran v Paul McParland, (12pm) Grade 1 Patrick Hughes v Mark Toal, (12.30pm) Grade 3B Roberto Fleming v Michael Grew

Rock Road

Sunday, January 21

Novice 2

Kellys 2pm: Patrick Conlon v Enda Mallon, Crossroads 2.30pm: Ciaran Mullan v Patrick Wilson,


Sunday, January 21

Hughes 11.30am: Sean Hughes v Gary Grimley, Low line grade 2 final Barry O'Reilly v John Grimley, 11.45am shop lane Micheala Greene v Jessica Hughes, 12.15pm bottom line: Caiomhe Rafferty v Shannon Maguire


Sunday, January 21

(11am) + 2 semi-final: Ciaran Savage v Brian Caherty, (11.45am) + 1. Shane Rock v Fergal Davidson


Philip White Tyres youth Tournament

Saturday 20th Jan 12pm Shea Hughes v Cathal McGuire, (12.30pm) Oisin Gribben v Ethan Hughes, 1pm semi-final: Niall Stevenson v winner of Oisin Gribben/Ethan Hughes, 1.30pm semi-final: James Robinson v winner Shea Hughes/Cathal McGuire

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

Other Sports

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: