Hurling and camogie

Down camogs claim five Soaring Stars

President of the Camogie Association Kathleen Woods and John Coffey of Liberty Insurance with all of the 2018 Soaring Stars Award winners at the gala awards night at the Citywest Hotel, Dublin. Picture by ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson
Séamas McAleenan

All-Ireland Intermediate runners-up Down had five players selected in the Liberty Insurance Soaring Stars team announced at the Camogie All-star banquet at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin.

There were three awards for the Clonduff club who won the recent Ulster club title.

Half-back Fionnuala Carr was picking up her fourth award while younger sister Sara-Louise was a second time winner. Making up the Hilltown contingent was club captain and midfielder Paula O'Hagan picking up her first award.

The other two awards went to the Ards' peninsula where Portaferry's Niamh Mallon picked up her fourth award and defender Alannah Savage her first. Alannah is one of three sisters from the Ballygalget club who featured for a Down team that rose like a Phoenix from the ashes this summer to take a first Ulster senior title in 13 seasons and then reach the All-Ireland final.

Cork however stopped their successful run in the Croke Park showdown in September and they had seven players in the Soaring Stars 15; goalkeeper Amy Lee, captain Sarah Harrington and Leah Weste in the full-back line, Jennifer Barry at centre half-back, Katelyn Hickey in midfield, Saoirse McCarthy at left half-forward and Caitríona Collins at left corner-forward. McCarthy also picked up the Players' Player of the Year award.

All-Ireland Premier Junior champions Dublin are represented by Deirdre Johntsone at left half-back and Caragh Dawson at right half-forward. Tipperary's Jenny Grace completes the 2018 Soaring Stars line-up at centre half-forward for her stellar performances in this year's Intermediate Championship.

Cork, who also won the All-Ireland senior title, dominated the All-Stars team, taking seven places on this year's selection presented by Camogie Association President Kathleen Woods.

2018 Soaring Stars Team sponsored by Liberty Insurance: Amy Lee (Cork), Leah Weste (Cork), Sarah Harrington (Cork), Alannah Savage (Down), Fionnuala Carr (Down), Jennifer Barry (Cork), Deirdre Johnstone (Dublin), Katelyn Hickey (Cork), Paula Gribben-O'Hagan (Down), Caragh Dawson (Dublin), Jenny Grace (Tipperary), Saoirse McCarthy (Cork), Niamh Mallon (Down), Sara-Louise Carr (Down), Caitríona Collins (Cork)

2018 Manager of the Year sponsored by Liberty Insurance: Paudie Murray, Cork

2018 All-Stars team sponsored by Liberty Insurance: Aoife Murray (Cork), Grace Walsh (Kilkenny), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Hannah Looney (Cork), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Chloe Sigerson (Cork), Gemma O'Connor (Cork), Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny), Orla Cotter (Cork), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Cáit Devane (Tipperary), Beth Carton (Waterford).

2018 Camogie Association/WGPA Players' Player of the Year sponsored by Liberty Insurance:

Senior Players' Player of the Year: Anne Dalton (Kilkenny)

Intermediate Players' Player of the Year: Saoirse McCarthy (Cork)

Junior Players' Player of the Year: Caragh Dawson (Dublin)

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

Hurling and camogie

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: