GAA Football

Ulster Schools GAA make draws for Danske Bank 2019/20 groups

Pupils from St Mary's CBGS, Belfast and St Michael's, Enniskillen with Ulster Schools’ GAA Chairman Jimmy Smyth and Oonagh Murtagh of sponsors Danske Bank at the launch of the 2019/20 Danske Bank Ulster Schools GAA competitions.
Séamas McAleenan

ULSTER Schools’ GAA Council in conjunction with their sponsor Danske Bank yesterday launched their programme for the incoming school year at the Dub, Belfast.

St Paul’s, Bessbrook and St Mary’s CBGS, Belfast have both dropped down from the Danske Bank MacRory Cup to be replaced by the Derry City and Inis Eoghain amalgamation teams.

Both Cathair Dhoire and Scoileanna Inis Eoghain have reached Danske Bank MacLarnon Cup finals in recent seasons. Indeed Cathair Dhoire was beaten by St Patrick’s, Downpatrick last March and they will be aware of the demands of playing in the premier football competition.

They have both been drawn in the same MacRory Cup group as St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon and St Macartan’s, Monaghan.

Meanwhile champions and first time Hogan Cup winners, St Michael’s, Enniskillen find themselves like last season in the same qualification group as the two Newry schools, Abbey CBS and 19 times champions St Colman’s. That group is completed by Patrician High, Carrickmacross.

2018 champions St Ronan’s, Lurgan are also in familiar company – with St Mary’s, Magherafelt and Omagh CBS from last year – with St Patrick’s, Armagh completing the group.

Pupils from St Mary's CBGS, Belfast and St Michael's, Enniskillen at the launch of the 2019/20 Danske Bank Ulster Schools GAA competitions.

The final group has the St Patrick’s schools in Maghera and Cavan joined by St Eunan’s, Letterkenny and Holy Trinity, Cookstown.

The competition will operate on the same format as last year with the top team in each group going through to the semi-finals of the MacCormack Cup, while the bottom two teams in each group will be involved in cross-group play-offs to remain in the competition after the Christmas break.

The Danske Bank MacLarnon Cup also contains 16 teams, including champions St Patrick’s Downpatrick who will start their campaign with a derby fixture against St Malachy’s Castlewellan. The pair met in last year’s MacLarnon quarter-final when extra time was required to separate them.

There are also 16 teams in the Markey Cup, 20 in the Faul Cup, 14 in the Ward Cup, and a further 10 in the Nolan Cup, making a grand total of 92 schools competing at senior level in football.

The numbers are not quite as impressive in hurling although 33 teams will compete across the three different levels of competition.

Recent winners Cross and Passion, Ballycastle and St Patrick’s, Maghera have both been drawn in the same Mageean Cup group, along with St Mary’s CBGS, Belfast while last season’s Casement Cup winners Scoileanna Thír Eoghain will be up against St Killian’s, Garron Tower and St Louis', Ballymena when the competition starts on the last weekend of September.

Down will be well represented in the Danske Bank Casement Cup by St Patrick’s, Downpatrick, St Colman’s Newry and Our Lady’s and St Patrick’s, Knock, while Rosses Community School from Dungloe is a new addition to second tier hurling at senior level

Ulster Schools’ Chairman Jimmy Smyth, launching the Council’s programme of competitions for the season ahead, recognised the “tremendous work being done in promoting our games in all schools.”

“In total there are over 140 different schools and amalgamations taking part this year in the 72 competitions that Ulster Schools’ GAA Council run and more than 2000 games will take place over the course of the next ten months.

“That involves a huge effort from the schools and from our officers and competition co-ordinators, all of whom volunteer their services and we really appreciate this.

“We are also indebted to the clubs who provide us with their facilities throughout the year, often in very inclement weather.”

Oonagh Murtagh Head of South Business Centre at Danske Bank, said: “Supporting the Ulster Schools GAA competition is a central part of our support for local communities, alongside our other strong youth partnerships with Schools’ Cup Rugby and the Northern Ireland Schools Football Association.

"Over the many years of our sponsorship we’ve seen the competition in schools across the country grow from strength to strength in developing skills on and off the pitch. We see more and more players excel in their schools and clubs, and then moving on into their counties.

"We’re looking forward to the competition this year and to the reveal of the 2019-20 Hurling and Football All Stars, as well as who’ll clinch the ultimate McLarnon, McRory and Mageean Cup throughout the season.”

2019/20 MacRory Cup groups:

Cathair Dhoire

Scoileanna Inis Eoghain

St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon

St Macartan’s, Monaghan

St Michael’s, Enniskillen

Abbey CBS

St Colman’s, Newry

Patrician High, Carrickmacross.

St Ronan’s, Lurgan

St Mary’s, Magherafelt

Omagh CBS

St Patrick’s, Armagh

St Patrick’s, Maghera

St Patrick’s, Cavan

St Eunan’s, Letterkenny

Holy Trinity, Cookstown

2019/20 Mageean Cup groups:

Cross and Passion, Ballycastle

St Patrick’s, Maghera

St Mary’s CBGS, Belfast

Scoileanna Thír Eoghain

St Killian’s, Garron Tower

St Louis', Ballymena

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe now to get full access

GAA Football

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: