GAA Football

Kieran McGeary and Lee Brennan named to start as Tyrone prepare for visit of Mayo

Lee Brennan has been named in the Tyrone starting line-up for the visit of Mayo on Sunday. Picture by Seamus Loughran.

KIERAN McGeary and Lee Brennan have been named in the starting line-up for Tyrone’s Division One meeting with Mayo on Sunday.

Pomeroy clubman McGeary and Trillick attacker Brennan replace Liam Rafferty and David Mulgrew in the team that started in last Sunday’s round one loss to Kerry in Killarney.

Rafferty will be on the bench for Sunday’s Healy Park clash while Mulgrew has not been included in the squad. Errigal Ciaran youngster Darragh Canavan also drops out but Frank Burns and Omagh’s Ronan O’Neill are included.

Meanwhile, Michael McKernan switches to the full-back line, at right corner-back, while Peter Harte reverts to his familiar role in the half-back line where he will wear the number seven jersey.

There are two positional changes in the half-forward line where Niall Sludden takes over at centre half-forward and the hard-working Kieran McGeary takes over at left half-forward.

Lee Brennan comes into the side at top of the left while Cathal McShane takes over at full-forward alongside Darren McCurry. McCurry top-scored with four frees (out of Tyrone’s total of seven points) last Sunday but manager Mickey Harte will be hoping for more from his attackers on Sunday.

Opponents Mayo began their campaign by getting past Connacht rivals Roscommon in wet and windy Castlebar last Saturday night. The westerners, with former boss James Horan back at the helm, started their 21st consecutive season in the top flight with a 1-8 to 1-7 win over Anthony Cunningham’s Rossies. The highlight was rookie forward Brian Reape’s stunning first half goal.

Tyrone (NFL Div1 v Mayo): N Morgan; M McKernan, R McNamee, HP McGeary; T McCann, R Brennan, P Harte; B Kennedy, D McClure; M Donnelly, N Sludden, K McGeary; D McCurry, C McShane, L Brennan

Subs: B Gallen, F Burns, K Coney, C Grugan, C McCann, A McCrory, B McDonnell, C McLaughlin, C Meyler, R O’Neill, L Rafferty

Laois (NFL D3 v Louth): G Brody; A Campion, M Timmons, D Seale; S Attride, R Piggott, G Dillon; J O’Loughlin, K Lillis; D O’Connor, C Boyle, S Byrne; R Munnelly, C Murphy, P Kingston

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

GAA Football

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: