GAA Football

Revealed: Ladies Football: Teams of the Leagues 2018

Kelly Mallon (Armagh) and Ciara Hegarty (Donegal)
Louise Gunn


SIXTEEN Ulster ladies footballers have been recognised across the four Lidl National Football League divisions on the 2018 Teams of the Leagues.

Eight of the province’s nine counties are represented, with unfortunately Down missing out, despite reaching the Division Three semi-finals.

However, with the players nominated by opposition managers after each round of fixtures, and those who received the most nominations overall making the teams of the leagues, the fact that Down did not play get to play two of their rounds due to walkovers, puts their players at a disadvantage.

The Division One team features three Donegal players with 2017 All Star Ciara Hegarty selected at centre half back, her captain Karen Guthrie at wing half forward and sharp-shooter Yvonne Bonnar at corner forward, both of whom are two of only three survivors from the 2017 Division One Team of the League.

Monaghan’s sole representative, Muireann Atkinson was named at midfield on the team.

Interestingly, there are no Cork players on the team, despite making the league semi-finals. Beaten league finalists Mayo have four, league champions Dublin three, while Galway and Westmeath have two each.

Ulster make up more than half the Division Two Team of the League with no fewer than eight players. League finalists Cavan lead the way with four – goalkeeper Evelyn Baugh, captain Sinead Greene and forwards Aishling Maguire and Aishling Sheridan.

The Orchard County sees corner back Sarah Marley and forwards Aoife McCoy and Aimee Mackin, who was on last year’s Division One selection, make the team. Tyrone’s Emma Jane Gervin was selected at midfield.

Champions Tipperary have five players selected - Maria Curley, captain Samantha Lambert, Caoimhe Condon, Jennifer Grant and final player of the match Aishling Moloney with Waterford and Sligo also picking up one selection each.

On the Division 3 team, champions Wexford have six players named, beaten finalists Meath have four players on the team, there are three from Kildare and one each from Offaly and Roscommon.

In Division Four, Antrim who reached the knockout stages, have captain Emma Kelly selected at fullback and Stephanie Cochrane at centre half back while Derry’s Emma Doherty is at midfield and Fermanagh teenager Eimear Smyth at corner forward on the team.

Four players from recently-crowned champions Wicklow, three representatives each from runners-up Louth and Limerick and one from Carlow see seven of the eight Division Four counties recognised.

The players will receive their awards at Croke Park on Friday evening, May 25.

The Lidl Manager of the Month for May will also be revealed on the night, as well as the overall Lidl Manager of the League.

Division 1 Lidl NFL Team of the League:

Ciara Trant (Dublin); Martha Byrne (Dublin), Sarah Tierney (Mayo), Jennifer Rogers (Westmeath); Fiona Coyle (Westmeath), Ciara Hegarty (Donegal), Sinéad Burke (Galway); Aileen Gilroy (Mayo),

Muireann Atkinson (Monaghan); Karen Guthrie (Donegal), Tracey Leonard (Galway), Nicole Owens (Dublin); Niamh Kelly (Mayo), Yvonne Bonner (Donegal), Grace Kelly (Mayo)

Division 2 Lidl NFL Team of the League:

Evelyn Baugh (Cavan); Sarah Marley (Armagh), Maria Curley (Tipperary), Michelle McGrath (Waterford); Sinéad Greene (Cavan), Samantha Lambert (Tipperary), Caoimhe Condon (Tipperary);

Jennifer Grant (Tipperary), Emma Jane Gervin (Tyrone); Aoife McCoy (Armagh), Aisling Maguire (Cavan), Aishling Sheridan (Cavan); Aimee Mackin (Armagh), Aishling Moloney (Tipperary), Katie Walsh (Sligo)

Division 3 Lidl NFL Team of the League:

Mary Rose Kelly (Wexford); Katie Newe (Meath), Maria Byrne (Wexford), Sarah Powderly (Meath);

Louise Scully (Kildare), Niamh Mernagh (Wexford), Niamh Gallogly (Meath), Bernie Breen (Wexford),

Aisling Curley (Kildare); Mairead Daly (Offaly), Roisin Byrne (Kildare), Fiona Rochford (Wexford); Stacey Grimes (Meath), Rebecca Finan (Roscommon), Catriona Murray (Wexford)

Division 4 Lidl NFL Team of the League:

Kim Connors (Wicklow); Emily Mulhall (Wicklow), Emma Kelly (Antrim), Olivia Giltenane (Limerick); Shauna Ryan (Limerick), Stephanie Cochrane (Antrim), Lorna Fusciardi (Wicklow); Emma Doherty (Derry), Sinéad Woods (Louth); Paula Murray (Louth), Jackie Kinch (Wicklow),

Mairead Kavanagh (Limerick); Eimear Smyth (Fermanagh), Kate Flood (Louth), Grania Murphy (Carlow)

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

GAA Football

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: