GAA Football

Enniskillen Gaels topple battling Ballinascreen in Ulster Minor Club final

Enniskillen Gaels' Ronan Beattie comes under pressure from Ballinscreen's Noel Rafferty in today's FonaCab Ulster Minor Club final at St Paul's GFC in Belfast. Picture by Seamus Loughran

fonaCAB Ulster Minor Club Football Tournament Final 

Enniskillen Gaels (Fermanagh) 1-6 St Colm’s, Ballinascreen (Derry) 0-6

Enniskillen Gaels knocked toppled Ballinascreen today to bridge a 30-year gap in the St Paul's Ulster Minor Club Football Tournament.

The Enniskillen side deservedly became the first Fermanagh winners of this tournament, played annually at St Paul's GFC in west Belfast, since they won it themselves in 1988, edging out a battling Ballinascreen in very testing conditions.

Enniskillen Gaels: C Newman, O Agnew, P Cassidy, J O’Hare; G Greene, J Cassidy, R Quinn (0-1); E Beacom, B Horan; C Jones (0-1 free), M McAleer, J Reihill (0-1 free); C Love (1-2), R Beattie (0-1), M Dixon.

Subs used: J Horan for Greene; C Corrigan for Reihill.

St Colm’s, Ballinascreen: R Scullion; D McCoy, C Doyle, R McKenna; R Doyle, A Bradley, Conal Logan; M Bradley (0-1), Christopher Logan; E McBride (0-1), C McAlinden, C Donnelly (0-2, 0-1 free); E Duggan, N Rafferty (0-2 frees), R McSorley.

Subs used: M Farrelly; D Kelly.

Referee: Brendan Tolan (Antrim).



Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: