GAA Football

Derrylaughan one win away from Tyrone IFC title

Francis Mooney

Derrylaughan are 60 minutes away from the double, after qualifying for a Tyrone IFC final meeting with Moy.

They came from nine points behind with an inspired second half to defeat Aghyaran by 3-13 to 2-10

Fergal McAliskey netted a penalty in first half stoppage time, and there were further goals from Tomas Carney and Paul Donnelly, after Aghyaran had forged ahead with goals from Ronan McHugh and Malachy Martin.

Moy had a comfortable 3-9 to 0-5 win over Gortin in the other semi-final to reach the decider for the first time since 2008.

Harry Loughran and Eunan Deeney hit first half goals to help them to a 2-3 to 0-1 interval lead, and Loughran fired in his second midway through the second half to put the issue beyond doubt.

Last year's beaten finalists Tattyreagh will face Clogher in the Junior Championship final.

The Tats got the better of an Owen Roes side that had won every game this season in league and championship up until their Healy Park semi-final.

But Tattyreagh came out on top by 1-16 to 1-10, with the help of a Gareth Mimnagh goal and seven points, all from play, from man of the match James Darcy.

Clogher defeated Clann na nGael 3-14 to 0-7, with a power-packed second half display that included goals from Fergal McKenna (2) and Marc McConnell.

Moy scorers: H Loughran 2-0, E Deeeny 1-4 (2 frees), S Cavanagh 0-3 (1 free), C Cavanagh, R Coleman 0-1 each.

Gortin scorers: R Keenan 0-2, S Og McAleer (free), C Brolly, P Keenan 0-1 each.

Derrylaughan scorers: F McAliskey 1-6 (1-0 pen, 0-3 frees), T Carney 1-1, P Donnelly 1-0, C Quinn, L Gervin 0-2 each, B Kennedy, C Gervin 0-1 each.

Aghyaran scorers: R McHugh 1-3 (0-3 frees), M Martin 1-1, R McNamee 0-2, C Browne, S Byrne, E Byrne, B Gallen (free) 0-1 each.

Clogher scorers: F McKenna 2-2 (0-1 free), M McConnell 1-3 (0-2 ‘45s). R McCaughey 0-5 (2 frees), S McCaffrey, M Bogue, C Shields, J Callaghan 0-1 each.

Clann na nGael scorers: G McDermott 0-3 (1 free), S O'Neill 0-2, D Devine, C McGill 0-1 each.

Tattyreagh scorers: G Mimnagh 1-2, J Darcy 0-7, R Porter, J Harkin 0-2 each, E McGinn, C Harkin, J Cartin 0-1 each.

Owen Roes scorers: C McShane 1-4 (0-3 frees), S Dooher 0-3, R McAleer, G McShane, R McShane ('45) 0-1 each

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

GAA Football

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: