GAA Football

Four Derry players on Kerry-dominated Minor Star selection

Derry full-back Conor McCluskey is one of four from the county named on the Electric Ireland minor star team of the year. Picture by Colm O'Reilly

DERRY’S run to the All-Ireland final sees them rewarded with four players on a Kerry-dominated Electric Ireland Minor Star football team of the year.

Twin brothers Oisin and Lorcan McWilliams are included at midfield and full-forward respectively, while the centre of the Ulster champions’ defence is also rewarded for a sterling campaign prior to the chastening final loss to an unstoppable Kerry side.

Captain Padraig McGrogan and full-back Conor McCluskey are named on the team that was chosen by a four-man panel of Oisin McConville, Meath manager Andy McEntee, Donal Óg Cusack and ex-Galway hurler Mattie Kenny.

Cavan’s Oisin Pierson is the other Ulster representative on the XV after his impressive displays in the forward line helped the Breffnimen reach the Ulster final and the last four of the All-Ireland series.

Unsurprisingly it’s the four-in-a-row Kingdom that dominate the team though, with seven players included on the side, including David Clifford who is expected to be confirmed as the player of the year later today.

Goalkeeper Deividas Uosis, who is of Lithuanian descent, was transformed from a forward into a reliable number one and he is chosen along with Cian Gammell, Michael Potts and Niall Donohue from the defence in front of him.

Midfielder Barry Mahony is included along with David Clifford and his namesake Fiachra, who was another considerable threat in a ruthless Kerry forward division.

Dublin pair Peadar Ó Cofaigh-Byrne and Ross McGarry complete the selection after they claimed the Leinster title en-route to the semi-final, where they were beaten by Derry in a thrilling game.

Former Armagh star Oisin McConville said: “These awards are a major event for young players and will stand as a landmark in their playing careers.

“It is a real honour to be named on the Team of the Year, not just for the player themselves but also for their families, counties, schools and clubs who have played a crucial part in these young players careers to date.

“It is just incredible to see such dedication in such young athletes but it really is a testament to them and they should be celebrated and that is what these awards are all about.”

Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Football Team of the Year

D Uosis (Kerry), P Ó Cofaigh Byrne (Dublin), C McCluskey (Derry), C Gammell (Kerry), M Potts (Kerry), P McGrogan (Derry), N Donohue (Kerry), B Mahony (Kerry), O McWilliams (Derry), R McGarry (Dublin), D Clifford (Kerry), D O’Sullivan (Kerry), O Pierson (Cavan), L McWilliams (Derry), F Clifford (Kerry)

Enjoy reading the Irish News?

Subscribe from just £1 for the first month to get full access

GAA Football

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: