GAA Football

GAA: All-Ireland SFC Qualifiers: Derry down and out while off-colour Donegal go through

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship round two qualifier: Donegal 0-12 Longford 0-7

THAT a Longford side that scored one point from play from a corner-back was able to send the Ballybofey crowd into the final 10 minutes eating its nails says it all about this game.

There certainly never seemed a great sense that the giantkillers would do it again once they lost influential midfielder James McGivney to a second booking, Donegal’s radar was so far off that they made it hard until the bitter end.

Playing into the wind in the first half, their shooting was completely off kilter. They created 19 scoring chances and missed 16 of them, with one shot after the other sailing wide of Paddy Collum’s posts or else dropping into his hands.

Donegal: MA McGinley; P McGrath, N McGee; C Ward, R McHugh, F McGlynn, E Gallagher, M O’Reilly; J McGee, M Murphy (0-3f); M Carroll, C Thompson, E McHugh (0-1); P McBrearty (0-5, 0-4f), M Langan

Subs: M McElhinney (0-2) for Carroll (27), H McFadden for McGee (49), J Brennan (0-1) for O’Reilly (53), K Lacey for Langan (56), P Brennan for E Gallagher (65)

Yellow card: C Thompson (34), M McElhinney (47), E Gallagher (63)

Longford: P Collum; D Masterson (0-1), P McCormack, B Gilleran; D McElligott, M Quinn, D Reynolds; J Keegan, D McGivney (0-3f); D Mimnagh, J McGivney, D Gallagher; R Smyth (0-3f), L Connerton, B McKeon

Subs: A Farrell for McKeon (66), R McEntire for D McGivney (66)

Black cards: D Mimnagh (25) replaced by C Barry; D Gallagher (42) replaced by L Moran

Blood replacement: L Moran for Smyth (11-16)

Yellow cards: J McGivney (38, 49)

Red card: J McGivney (49, second yellow)

Referee: P Hughes (Armagh)

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship round two qualifier: Mayo 2-21 Derry 1-13

Over at McHale Park in Castlebar, Derry almost caused a major shock, taking the much-fancied Mayo to extra-time after the game had ended 1-12 to 1-12 in normal time.

But when a James Kielt penalty in the 77th minute was saved by Mayo keeper David Clarke, the writing was on the wall for Damian Barton's battling Oak Leaf squad.

The extra-time scoring stats said it all: Mayo 1-9 Derry 0-1.

Derry exit the Championship on a 2-21 to 1-13 scoreline. 

Derry: B McKinless; N Keenan, B Rogers, K McKaigue; C McFaul, C McKaigue, C McWilliams; C McAtamney, D Heavron (0-1); R Bell (0-3), N Loughlin (0-6, 5f) E Lynn; D Tallon; M McEvoy, B Heron (0-1).

Subs: E McGuckin for McAtamney BC 35+3m; M Lynch (1-1) for Tallon 47m; J Kielt (0-1, 1f) for Bell 58m; S McGuigan for Lynn 67m, C Neville for McEvoy 70 +5m. ET N Forrester for McFaul 75m; G O’Neill for Loughlin 85m; C O’Doherty for Heron 87m

Mayo: D Clarke; B Harrison, G Cafferkey, C Barrett; K Keegan (0-1), C Boyle, P Durcan (0-1); A O’Shea (0-1), T Parsons; F Boland, K McLoughlin (0-1), D Vaughan, S Coen, C O’Connor (0-12, 9f, 1 45), A Moran (0-2).

Subs: D O’Connor (0-1) for Boland ht; S O’Shea for Vaughan 55m; J Doherty (1-1) for Coen 55m; C Loftus (1-1) for Moran 63m; D Drake for Harrison 63m. ET C Crowe for Barrett 82m; S Nally for Keegan 85m, D Kirby for McLoughlin 87m

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois)


GAA Football

Today's horoscope


See a different horoscope: